Pasta baked in a homemade tomato sauce topped with melted cheese, this Tuna casserole is juicy and full of flavour and bears no resemblance to the usual acts of desperation associated with canned tuna meals! After a CREAMY tuna pasta bake? Try Tuna Mornay!

Tuna Pasta Bake

Confession: I say “Everybody has a can of tuna” but I don’t. Well, I do have lots. But it’s not for me. It’s for Dozer. So on the odd occasion that I do want tuna, I swipe his. So here’s the truth. This Tuna Pasta Bake in these photos is made with Dozer’s tuna. 😂 Oh, just to be clear – it’s normal human tuna. Whatever is on special at the time, and I get the little cans so I had to use a bunch of them to make this big batch of Tuna Pasta Bake. You should have seen the look on his face as I was popping open can after can. His eyes were sparkling and he was wriggling like a puppy with excitement, thinking Christmas had come early. Then his tail slowly started sagging as he realised it was going into something I was making, and not into his food bowl!

I grew up in a household where I was sent to school with bento boxes when all I wanted was a peanut butter sandwich. So I totally missed the Tuna Mornay experience that many of my friends shudder at the memory of – some sort of white sauce in a jar mixed with pasta and tuna, then baked. I shudder at the description. And while actually, I do enjoy Tuna Mornay (made from scratch – use this Seafood Gratin recipe but sub tuna for seafood), I prefer this tomato based Tuna Pasta Bake.

This recipe is almost a guide so I’ve provided suggestions for substitutions. Basically, you need tuna, pasta, canned tomato or passata and/or tomato paste, some sort of dried herb or spices, garlic or onion (or leek / shallots/scallions/green onions or eschallots) and that’s it. Everything else you see in the recipe is something that takes it up a notch, they aren’t deal breakers. If that makes sense? 🙂 To be honest, my favourite part of this Tuna Pasta Bake is that golden crust on the surface. Yes, it is fantastic with a sprinkling of cheese, but even without it, it’s still fantastic (try panko or breadcrumbs if you don’t have cheese). Your mind will be telling you that it’s Cooks’ Privileges to pick at the top, but don’t do it because if you start, you may find you’ve picked all the surface off before it gets to the table. Now that wouldn’t be very fair, would it?  😉 – Nagi xx

WATCH HOW TO MAKE IT

Tuna Pasta Bake recipe video!

LIFE OF DOZER

It’s been 13 days since he shredded his paw when he bolted across a bed of oysters in pursuit of a pelican (🙄) and it’s still not fully healed because this dog is unable to refrain from bolting around the yard like a psycho when he goes out to pee. As an alternative to getting stitches, he’s currently on chill-pills in an attempt to keep him quieter during the days. So he’s spending his days half asleep, like this. I want his life.

SaveSave

Tuna Pasta Bake - 30Tuna Pasta Bake - 36Tuna Pasta Bake - 27Tuna Pasta Bake - 51Tuna Pasta Bake - 19