I always have a can of Cannellini Beans in my pantry. It really amazes me how many uses I find for it – in salads, as a quick mash (check out my Garlic White Bean Mash In A Flash), soups and dips. It’s filling, nutritious, and can be eaten practically straight out of the can with just a squeeze of lemon and olive oil. Using it as a bruschetta topping is fantastic. Though not as wildly popular as Tomato and Basil, it is a topping that is authentically Italian. I make it using parsley, but I’ve seen and read variations of this using rosemary, oregano and even thyme, all of which are Italian flavours. This is one of 3 bruschetta recipes in my Trio of Bruschetta Spread:

Tomato and Basil Bruschetta Lemon Cannellini Bean Bruschetta Celery and Lime Bruschetta

A Bruschetta Spread is a great starter or light meal for guests because you fill bowls with Bruschetta toppings alongside a pile of grilled bread and let your guests serve themselves. Plus, you can make the grilled bread ahead then just pop it in the oven to reheat when you’re ready to serve, and this Lemon White Bean topping can also be made ahead. A great pantry staple bite!

  SaveSave

Trio of Bruschetta  Lemon Cannellini Bean Bruschetta - 77Trio of Bruschetta  Lemon Cannellini Bean Bruschetta - 74Trio of Bruschetta  Lemon Cannellini Bean Bruschetta - 99