I made these scrumptious stacks using leftover frozen Pork Carnitas but I’ve also provided directions for making these with chicken – super quick!. Every time I make tacos this way, I wonder why I bother with the traditional method. There is something about “stacked” food that’s irresistible. It’s so satisfying to cut into the stack and turn a pretty pile into a delicious mess.

Yup. That’s my kind of food. Messy food is always the best. Like wings. Sauce smeared all over your face, sticky hands, and your bib (or shirt) so filthy you look like you were in a food fight. Messy food is fun. Don’t you think? Gone are the days of wanting to dine gracefully, in a quiet, elegant restaurant where you feel too terrified to laugh out loud for fear of being frowned upon by fellow diners. Where waiters give you a look of scorn if you dare to pick up the wrong fork for your starter (I’m thinking Pretty Woman here, where Julia Roberts had no idea which fork to use for her shrimp cocktail!). So this is my kind of food. Fun. Scrumptious. Messy. Easy. FAST.

I made these with small tortillas – the ones you can get that are around 6″/12cm wide. But they could be made with tostadas as well (which are just fried tortillas), though the texture is completely different because they are crunchy rather than soft. I bake the tortillas just briefly so they hold their shape better when the stack is put together. But they aren’t crisp like tostadas. Tostadas would be harder to eat, I think. Because you can’t spear the tostadas with a fork, you either need to use a spoon or use the tostadas to scoop up the filling (which would make it nachos-like, I guess!) I made these with 4 tortillas in each stack – 3 layers of meat / cheese. But you can make the smaller or taller, depending on your appetite / how many people you are feeding! Let’s-get-messy! – Nagi   SaveSave SaveSave

Taco Stack with Pork Carnitas or Chicken - 77Taco Stack with Pork Carnitas or Chicken - 22Taco Stack with Pork Carnitas or Chicken - 58