Magic super low calorie creamy Vegetable Soup!

Though my recipe feed doesn’t exactly scream “healthy eating” by any stretch of the imagination, the more discerning may have noticed that most of my dinner recipes actually have a sensible level of calories. I don’t often cook with cream. I control my use of butter (sometimes reluctantly). And I am pretty sure I can count the deep fried recipes on this blog on one hand. I believe that food is for enjoying not just survival. I don’t believe in butchering great dishes of the world for the sake of drastic calorie reduction and compromising taste. I’d rather eat a smaller serving of something super tasty and bulk up on vegetables. However, I do have a thing for creating seriously tasty, super low cal meals that are filling. I have a few friends I often brainstorm with for calorie controlled food intake ideas. (Well, they brief me on exactly what they’re after and I do the brainstorming). This is the product of one such session – a Healthy, Creamy Vegetable Soup recipe that’s just 124 calories for a big bowl and it’s seriously delish!

Secret ingredient: Pureed peeled zucchini

This recipe is sort of an extension of my Creamy Cauliflower Soup. Which I initially used as the soup broth for this healthy creamy Vegetable Soup and while tasty, it had a distinct cauliflower flavour which was not what I was after. I was specifically trying to make a super low cal cream of vegetable soup, so I wanted the white soup broth to have a fairly neutral but seasoned flavour. The solution? Two zucchinis in the bottom of my fridge past their used by date. Peel off the green = almost pure white flesh. I knew it would thicken the soup and add silkiness just like in my Creamy Zucchini Soup – except this soup would be white. Bingo.

Flavour!

The soup broth is also flavoured with onion and garlic which is cooked with the cauliflower and zucchini in vegetable broth and water until soft, then whizzed up until silky smooth. Pour it into the pot loaded with even more veggies, simmer to bring it all together and this is what you end up with – a big pot of HEALTHY creamy Vegetable Soup that looks like it’s been made with tubs of cream.

I’m not going to lie to you. Is it as good as making a real Cream of Vegetable Soup made using a big chunk of butter and 1/2 cup of flour to thicken milk? And let’s add a nice swish of cream while we’re at it, and we’d be mad not to sauté the veggies for the soup in more butter, because after all, butter = flavour. Then we must, oh we MUST serve it with big hunks of grilled cheese on toast, and don’t hold back on the cheese please, and while you’re at it, please slather the bread with butter before topping with cheese. No, this Healthy Creamy Vegetable Soup is not “as good” as that. But does it stand on its own as a seriously delicious soup for a ridiculously low amount of calories for a gigantic VERY filling bowl? YES IT DOES. I know some people would use all the calorie credits for a little sweet treat. Not me. Bring on the grilled cheese. – Nagi x

Soup Dippers

Quick Cheesy Garlic Bread Better-Than-Dominos Garlic Bread Soft No Knead Dinner Rolls

More creamy cream-less soups

Homemade Cream of Chicken Soup – bid Heinz goodbye! Corn Chowder and Ham and Corn Chowder with Potato Broccoli Potato Soup and Broccoli Cheese Soup Creamy, Dreamy Cauliflower Soup Creamy Vegetable Soup with Noodles Browse all Soups

WATCH HOW TO MAKE IT

LIFE OF DOZER 

A familiar sight: a furry head peeking around the bench to check out if anything of interest (to him) is going on in the kitchen….. In this case, no, just raw cauliflower!

Super Low Cal Healthy Creamy Vegetable Soup - 45Super Low Cal Healthy Creamy Vegetable Soup - 92Super Low Cal Healthy Creamy Vegetable Soup - 98Super Low Cal Healthy Creamy Vegetable Soup - 12Super Low Cal Healthy Creamy Vegetable Soup - 56Super Low Cal Healthy Creamy Vegetable Soup - 42Super Low Cal Healthy Creamy Vegetable Soup - 11Super Low Cal Healthy Creamy Vegetable Soup - 73Super Low Cal Healthy Creamy Vegetable Soup - 16Super Low Cal Healthy Creamy Vegetable Soup - 34