One of the most fabulous new salads I’ve tried in years!

Strawberry Salad

I’m finding more and more that I’m being nominated as the designated Salad Bringer. Something about people thinking I cook so much for my job, surely I don’t want to make something big to bring along. Pfft! Side salad? I want to do the centrepiece!!! Or a show stopping dessert! 😂 So I’ve been progressively building an arsenal of what I call “Show-Off” salads – to make myself feel better, that I’m making a worthy contribution. You want a side salad?? I’ll show you a side salad!! They’re not technically challenging or calling for fussy gourmet ingredients. They’re just extra special salads that look as great as they taste – and this Strawberry Salad is my latest!

There’s a few components to this salad:

Poppyseed Dressing – dump and shake Lightly candied pecans – quick and easy, 5 minute job The salad part – chopping the strawberries is the part that takes the longest! Assembling – dress the spinach, then layer up the salad. No point tossing, the strawberries end up at the bottom!

What you need

Baby spinach is my favourite type of green fluffage for this salad because it’s got a lovely mild flavour and a soft texture that I think goes well with strawberries. Other mild lettuces will work well – just avoid ones like rocket/arugula (peppery) and radicchio (bitter). The avocado is optional, I’d happily scoff this salad down even without. But it’s so good WITH it – that little creaminess with all the other stuff going on here is terrific!

The pecans are just lightly candied because we don’t need tons of sweetness (nor toffee sticking in our teeth). The strawberries add enough fresh sweetness, and also the dressing is not the zingy sour type, it’s creamy and a bit sweet.

Poppyseed Dressing – So much more than just another dressing with the addition of lots of little black bits! The poppyseed add nuttiness to the dressing which adds an extra something-something to this salad. It’s not as zingy as most dressings – it’s a bit creamy (from the mayo) with a touch of sweet. And I think it goes so well with the fresh juicy sweetness of strawberries!

I find that Strawberry Salads are best layered rather than tossed. If you toss it all together, then all the good stuff ends up on the bottom of the bowl! (The good “stuff” being the strawberries, candied pecans, avocado and feta.😂) So the way I put this salad together, I toss the spinach with a bit of dressing, then layer it up as shown below. Usually 3 layers for a giant salad for gatherings, or 2 if it’s just a smaller side salad for dinner.

Make this Strawberry Salad as…

Side salad for dinner – I usually skip the candied pecans and just use plain pecans. It’s pretty quick to put together if you skip this. It fresh enough to pair with mains with big flavours, such as BBQ Beef Brisket. But also flavourful and interesting enough to have on the side of quick everyday mains such as Garlic Chicken Thighs, Baked Fish, sticky country style Baked Pork Chops or some quick Garlic Prawns (Shrimp!) A meal in itself – it’s so scoffable, this is definitely a salad worthy of a meal! I’ve been having it for lunch with nothing else on the side and its kept me satisfied all afternoon. Mind you, I had generous servings! Try adding chicken! This Marinated Chicken Breast is ideal, or this Baked Chicken Breast. Slice it and serve on top or on the side. IMPRESS YOUR FAMILY and FRIENDS! Take this to the next gathering where you’re asked to bring a salad and bask in the glow of praises!

Yes, the last point is the main purpose behind the creation of this salad and yes, I’m really that immature. 😇 – Nagi x

More Show Off Salads

Apple Salad with Candied Walnuts and Cranberries – that’s plumped cranberries, not just shrivelled up dried ones! Pearl Couscous Salad and Wild Rice Salad – colourful, loaded with textures and colours, I make both of these regularly all year round Prawn Mango Avocado Summer Salad – reserved for very special occasions!

Watch how to make it

Life of Dozer

He couldn’t figure out how to get through the dog door with his new toy…. Ahhh Dozer. You might not be the sharpest tool in the shed but you’ve got a heart of gold and you’re damn cute, so we love you anyway! 😂

Strawberry Salad with Avocado - 7Strawberry Salad with Avocado - 53Strawberry Salad with Avocado - 25Strawberry Salad with Avocado - 15Strawberry Salad with Avocado - 27Strawberry Salad with Avocado - 91Strawberry Salad with Avocado - 4Strawberry Salad with Avocado - 20