STICKY DATE PUDDING – A CHILDHOOD FAVOURITE

Who else has childhood memories of Sara Lee frozen Sticky Date Pudding?? It is the only store bought dessert my mother ever bought – and only on special occasions. And as much as I loved it, my one gripe was always that there was not enough Butterscotch Sauce to go around. Never fear. You won’t have that problem with this recipe! 😂 I know this recipe is called Sticky Toffee Pudding by most of the world – other than Australia and New Zealand it seems. And given that dates are the key ingredient in the pudding, I would say we’ve got it right for this one!!

DATES ARE KEY

I am pretty sure this is the only recipe I use dates for. And I realise that the photo above of the date sludge may look thoroughly unappetising to some people, but rest assured even if you’re a date hater that you can’t taste it in the end result. The dates contribute to the stickiness and moistness of the sponge, as well as giving it colour. Don’t ask me for a sub! (Oh wait, you can. Prunes. Pretty much the same thing! 😂)

ONE FOR EVERYONE – OR A BIG ONE TO SHARE

I think it’s more common here in Australia to make one pudding cake that is then cut to serve. Sara Lee frozen dessert style. Whereas in the UK it seems more common to make individual puddings. I might be wrong here. But either way will work fine, and I’ve provided cook times and directions for both.

SECRET TIP: DOUSE HOT PUDDING WITH SAUCE

If you’ve ever made one of those cakes that you douse with syrup, you’ll know exactly what you’re in for with this trick! It goes like this – as soon as the pudding comes out of the oven, poke lots of holes using a skewer (I find this strangely satisfying but let’s not read too much into this), then pour over some hot butterscotch sauce. This makes the pudding intensely moist as well as staining the sponge to give it that signature dark brown colour, rather than being a pale golden colour which many sticky toffee pudding recipes are. It also means this pudding keeps for days and days in the fridge and once reheated, it’s just like it’s fresh out of the oven. The only question is – will you serve yours with cream or ice cream? I’m an ice cream gal, all the way!! – Nagi x

More cosy warm desserts for cold winter nights!

Apple Crumble – personal favourite! Strawberry Crumble Chocolate Self Saucing Pudding Bread and Butter Pudding Magic Caramel Self Saucing Baked Apples

WATCH HOW TO MAKE IT

LIFE OF DOZER

If you look real close on the right side, you’ll see the tiniest glimpse of my hand as I desperately tried to hold Dozer back from doing a face plant into the Pupcakes….. In all seriousness though! I made these Pupcakes for the RSPCA, to let people know about the RSPCA Cupcake Day which is on 20 August 2018. It’s a day when bakers from all across Australia gather at their workplace, school or home to raise funds to help all the pooches and other animals who aren’t as fortunate as Dozer. Join in or find out more about this worthy cause, for all the pooches who aren’t as lucky as ours. Don’t be surprised if I announce that I’m setting up a cupcake stand on the streets! 😂

Sticky Date Pudding - 34Sticky Date Pudding - 74Sticky Date Pudding - 36Sticky Date Pudding - 41Sticky Date Pudding - 60Sticky Date Pudding - 48Sticky Date Pudding - 69