Spicy Parmesan Party Popcorn

The pressure to “deliver” is high when you have a new food blogger friend coming round for lunch and you’ve had a shocker of a weekend so you haven’t had time to prepare for a fancy meal. This new friend is Amanda from Chew Town who is such good value that even if I served her a ham sandwich with store bought bread, she would still munch it down with enthusiasm. I’ve always said that even toast tastes special when someone else makes it for you. She thinks like that too. That’s my type of people. 🙂 I literally had 30 minutes to prepare snacks and lunch before she arrived. With no time to do a grocery run, I decided to make do with the measly amount of popcorn kernels I had left to make something to snack on while we chatted. I was thrilled when she started tucking into the popcorn with a vengeance, and admitted to me that her poison is popcorn. How much more validation can you get? Especially from someone who is such a talented cook!

Popcorn is not something that people generally think of as savoury party food, but I hope this inspires some of you to give it a try. It is cheaper than chips and dip, something different and so moorish that your friends will be shovelling it down by the handful! It is such great party food. It will be making a regular appearance at my gatherings from now on! The problem I have with popcorn with seasonings sprinkled on it is getting the flavour to stick to the popcorn. To this day, I have never figured out an easier way to do this than the way I have done it for this recipe – using oil spray to lightly coat the popcorn before sprinkling the flavour on. If anyone knows a better way (without pouring buckets of butter on it!), I would love to hear it! – Nagi

More Popcorn recipes

Movie Popcorn – buttery, yellow and it stays crisp for days! Salted Caramel Popcorn Lightly Sweet ‘n Salty Popcorn Christmas Popcorn Candy

Spicy Parmesan Party Popcorn - 52Spicy Parmesan Party Popcorn - 40Spicy Parmesan Party Popcorn - 11Spicy Parmesan Party Popcorn - 33