There are two very popular types of Thai chicken. One is Gai Yang which I shared previously which has lemongrass in the marinade so it has an earthy lemon flavour that is so distinctly South East Asian. And this Southern Thai  Chicken which is quite different because it has turmeric in it, and no lemongrass. Lemongrass is a distinctly South East Asian herb which I absolutely love but does not make my standard weekly shop. Whereas this one is made with ingredients that I always have. Aside from cilantro/coriander, everything else is pantry staples. And because I cook so much Asian and Mexican food, coriander always makes it into my weekly basket. I first tried this Southern Thai chicken at a night market in Bangkok. At the time, I didn’t even know what it was (my Thai is not that great….ie virtually non existent), I just knew it was a finger-licking’ lip smackin’ moment of bliss. I’m lucky I was with friends who were very patient as I became annoyingly persistent, trying to hunt it down again as we continued our exploration of Bangkok. I never found it again in Bangkok. I was even making jokes about how there was a chicken conspiracy, depriving me of my fix that I needed. I Googled it when I got home, and I still couldn’t figure out what it was (and more importantly, where I could get more). Bearing in mind I knew nothing about what it was except it was a very tasty grilled chicken! I didn’t actually pick there was tumeric in it which would have made my search more successful. And then, quite by chance, I stumbled across this Tumeric Chicken recipe on a site called Real Thai Recipes. As soon as I read it and saw the photo, my face broke out into a wide grin because I knew straight away that it was what I had. And the reason I never found it again in Bangkok is because it’s not common there, it’s a style of chicken from Southern Thailand. It all made sense! There’s WASN’T a Thai Chicken conspiracy! No wonder I couldn’t find them on every street corner in Bangkok!

So I’m saving you the Googling and endless hunts through the night markets in the back streets of Bangkok. Here is a ripper of a chicken recipe which is a Southern Thai Chicken that you can grill/BBQ or bake. I really think you will enjoy it. It’s quite sweet, but there are savoury layers from the other ingredients. It’s one of those recipes that tastes like it has way more ingredients in it – my speciality! – Nagi x

Serve these on the side!

Steamed Jasmine rice, Thai Fried Rice, Pineapple Fried Rice or Coconut Rice Crunchy Asian Slaw on the side – great all rounder Asian salad that goes with all Asian foods Asian Sesame Dressing for any fresh salad or steamed vegetables Asian Mushroom Ramen Noodles – another great all rounder!

  SaveSave SaveSave SaveSave

Southern Thai Tumeric Chicken  Grilled or Baked  - 2Southern Thai Tumeric Chicken  Grilled or Baked  - 21Southern Thai Tumeric Chicken  Grilled or Baked  - 23Southern Thai Tumeric Chicken  Grilled or Baked  - 27Southern Thai Tumeric Chicken  Grilled or Baked  - 54Southern Thai Tumeric Chicken  Grilled or Baked  - 35