Lamb shoulder has more flavour and is easier to cook than lamb leg. Virtually foolproof, minimal effort, and incredible meat that is so tender that you won’t need a knife to carve this! Want to upgrade to the Rolls Royce version? Try the Ultimate 12 Hour Roast Lamb or browse the entire Roast Lamb recipe collection.

Slow Cooked Lamb Shoulder is the ultimate lamb roast

Being born into a foodie family, there is always a flurry of emails leading up to a Sunday Night Roast. It usually goes something like this: My brother (the “serious” foodie): Let’s do a standing rib roast. Dry aged from Victor Churchill (PS A gourmet expensive butcher in Sydney!) Me: That’s ridiculous. It will cost $100! Brother: If we’re gonna do a roast, we should do it right. I’m not doing a lamb leg from Coles! Me: Who said you’re cooking? I’M the Roast Queen, remember? Brother: Self proclaimed titles carry no weight. Me: How about a slow cooked lamb shoulder? Brother: OK. That’ll do. I’ll do the sides. Sister: I don’t mind. Just tell me what I need to do. Mum: Send me a shopping list. And thus the roles and responsibilities for a Sunday Night Roast are set.

Lamb Shoulder

Lamb shoulder is not as popular as lamb leg – and I truly do not understand why. It has more flavour and it’s far juicier. The only “downside” I can think of is that it needs to be slow cooked, it can’t be cooked hard and fast like a classic Roast Lamb Leg that’s cooked until perfectly pink and juicy inside. On the other hand, because lamb shoulder is a juicier cut, it’s incredibly forgiving so if it’s in the oven for too long, it’s still going to be gloriously juicy.

I love using the technique of stuffing rosemary and garlic into incisions to infuse the meat with flavour. You can really only do this with rosemary because the sprigs are stiff enough to stick into the holes. And also it works well for this recipe because it is slow roasted – the flavours do not infuse as well into the meat with a traditional roast that only takes 1 1/2 hours or so. So take advantage of it in this recipe! OK, signing off! Love to hear if this makes it to your Sunday Night family dinner! – Nagi x

My favourite side dishes for roast lamb

More Roast Lamb Recipes

I love a good roast lamb – so I’ve shared a few over the years!

Slow Roasted Lamb Shoulder

WATCH HOW TO MAKE IT

Life of Dozer

Hmm. Not surprising he’s interested in what’s going on here….

Slow Cooked Lamb Shoulder - 80Slow Cooked Lamb Shoulder - 18Slow Cooked Lamb Shoulder - 28Slow Cooked Lamb Shoulder - 33Slow Cooked Lamb Shoulder - 97Slow Cooked Lamb Shoulder - 50