Cabbage Salad

I know cabbage can have a reputation for being a really boring vegetable and I distinctly have memories from my childhood of picking through food to avoid eating even the tiniest piece of cabbage. However, once I grew out of my bratty-picky-eating-phase and left the nest to fend for myself, cabbage became a pantry staple (well, refrigerator staple). Every week, along with onions, garlic and potatoes, cabbage always makes its way into my shopping basket. Why, you might ask? Because it stays fresh for ages and it’s so versatile! Just to clarify, I’m talking about ordinary cabbage – green/white and purple cabbage – not Chinese cabbage (which is versatile, but doesn’t stay fresh for as long). Cabbage usually lasts for around 3 weeks in my fridge. Sure the edges will get a bit dry but it’s an easy fix just to slice off a thin shaving. “Refreshing, colourful and with a great crunch, this is a great standby salad because it goes with pretty much any cuisine.” As for versatility, when you put your mind to it (as I am briefly doing as I write this post), it truly is amazing how many dishes and cuisines use cabbage. It’s in classic Chinese dishes (like Chow Mein), European salads like Sauerkraut, Mexican style salads, Middle Eastern salads, Portuguese soup, Okonokiyaki (Japanese pancake) – and of course, the classic coleslaw. And this is just scratching the surface! This is one of the quick salads I make which is basically my “go to” salad for any meal. It is refreshing, crunchy and delightfully colourful, and takes minutes to put together. I honestly can say that I can’t think of a single dish that this wouldn’t go with. The only thing you might change up is the herb. I made this particular one with mint, but I will use any herb I have on hand or is leftover from the meal I am making. “I made this as part of a multi-course Middle Eastern feast as a side salad and to stuff into wraps with grilled meat.” I made this as part of an Arabian Feast menu which I’ll be sharing in the coming weeks (psst, it’s a 7 dish make ahead feast prepared in 1 hour!). It is absolutely fabulous to have as a side salad and also to use to stuff into wraps with the Lamb Koftas and Chicken Sharwama, plus of course it’s so bright that it perks up any spread.  Here’s a little preview of the Feast.

1 Hour Arabian Feast Menu

To Nibble

Classic Hummus Herb Chili Feta Chargrilled Vegetable Platter (coming soon!)

For the Grill! (All stove 🙂 )

Lamb Koftas Chicken Sharwarma

Because we must have Greens (and cater for Vegetarians)

Shredded Red Cabbage Carrot Salad (this recipe!) Spiced Chickpea Salad

I’ll be preparing a post rounding up the full menu and explaining how to prepare it in 1 hour, how to store it and what needs to be done on the day. Don’t forget to pick up some cabbage today!! – Nagi    

Shredded Red Cabbage  Carrot and Mint Salad - 80Shredded Red Cabbage  Carrot and Mint Salad - 3Shredded Red Cabbage  Carrot and Mint Salad - 60