“These cookies are made with just butter, sugar and flour. The holy trinity of baking!” These insanely addictive morsels are based on a South American treat called Alfajores which are shortbread cookies spread with Dulce De Leche (caramel) and sandwiched together. The shortbread used in Alfajores is not difficult but …..well, honestly? When I started to prepare to make the biscuits, I simply couldn’t muster the energy to do the full blown “real deal” shortbread for the Alfajores which required pulling out my Kitchen Aid, 20 minutes prep rather than 10 minutes, and 6 more ingredients. It had been a long day! I made these biscuits at 9.30pm at night so I could photograph them in the morning! So after about 3 seconds of indecisiveness, I decided to make my “go to” shortbread instead. And truly, these are so delicious that I am not entirely convinced I will ever make Alfajores again…..

“These sure look like they took more than 10 minutes to prepare….that’s my kind of baking!” This is the recipe I have used for shortbread since I can remember. Probably since I left home at the tender age of 18 and had to fend for myself (I’m not going to tell you how long ago that was!). It does not require a mixer and it literally takes 3 minutes to mix up. The dough is soft and easy to handle, not so sticky that it’s difficult to roll out and to place the cut rounds onto the baking tray. And the thing that always gets me is how smooth the silky the surface is when it comes out of the oven! They definitely look like they took more than 10 minutes of work. Now that’s my kind of baking! These cookie sandwiches are filled with Dulce De Leche made in a slow cooker which requires only 1 ingredient and takes 15 seconds to prepare. All you do is place sealed cans (without even removing the label) into a slow cooker, cover with water and then set and forget. When you open the can, you will be greeted with insanely rich, thick caramel which is perfectly smooth (no stirring required!). It’s a miracle.   SaveSave SaveSave

Shortbread Cookie Sandwich With Dulce De Leche - 37Shortbread Cookie Sandwich With Dulce De Leche - 67Shortbread Cookie Sandwich With Dulce De Leche - 33