Sesame Crusted Salmon

I’m sticking this recipe in my 15 Minute Meals collection even though technically it takes 20 minutes to make, and in my Asian recipes collection even though technically it isn’t an authentic Asian recipe. Because in my head, it’s worthy of being in both those collections – the salmon itself takes less than 15 minutes to cook and this bowl has all sorts of Asian-ness in it with the soba, Asian greens, the Asian dressing and that sesame crusted salmon (don’t ask me why but I think of sesame as an Asiany ingredient even though I know it’s used widely in all sorts of cuisines all around the world 🤗). That sesame crust on the salmon is awesome. It’s crispy and tastes so….. well, sesame-y. And to think that there’s no need to fuss about dredging the salmon in flour and egg!!!

Quick baked salmon recipe

We have Jamie Oliver to thank for this recipe because it’s from one of his cooking shows. Except he pan fries – which I tried, but found that bits of crust came off even when I handled it super carefully. The sesame crust is the best bit. I want it all. So I bake mine. Super high heat, finished with a broil (grill), and 13 minutes later, this is what comes out: What until you see it in the video, all bubbling and golden. It looks so good. (Psst Little time saver tip – cook the greens with the soba. Just add them in for the last minute of cook time). I serve this with one of my favourite Asian Dressings, from this Beef Soba Noodle Bowls recipe. I really should file it away separately as its own recipe because it’s one I regularly use. Use it for salads, pouring over cooked fish, chicken, beef and pork, and to toss through noodles. And this Sesame Crusted Salmon is the perfect candidate for the dressing because it clings to the seeds. You’re 20 minutes away from this fabulous bowl of noodle slurping deliciousness topped with a crispy sesame salmon and obligatory greens to round it out!!! And remember – you’ll find it in my 15 Minute Meals and Asian recipes collections even though technically it should not be in either! 😜 – Nagi x

More salmon recipes

Christmas Baked Salmon: Easy & Make-ahead – Super easy, eye-catching centrepiece!Honey Garlic Salmon – magic 4 ingredient sauce, 15 minute recipeSalmon with Creamy Garlic & Herb Sauce – quick, easy but made elegant with fresh tarragon and chervilLemon Honey Glazed Salmon – lemon and honey is a stunning flavour with rich salmon flavoursBaked Parmesan Crusted Salmon with Lemon Cream Sauce – crunchy parmesan crumbed crust with an incredible creamy lemon sauceBrown Sugar Broiled Salmon – super quick, incredible flavour!Poached Salmon in Coconut Lime Sauce – poached salmon was never so amazing!Creamy Dill Sauce for Salmon or Trout – classic sauce for salmonGarlic Butter Salmon – fast, simple, familiar … easy to love!See all Salmon recipes

WATCH HOW TO MAKE IT

 

LIFE OF DOZER

I swear this dog has no awareness of his own size. 🙄

Sesame Crusted Salmon - 63Sesame Crusted Salmon - 16Sesame Crusted Salmon - 37Sesame Crusted Salmon - 59Sesame Crusted Salmon - 52Sesame Crusted Salmon - 34Sesame Crusted Salmon - 42Sesame Crusted Salmon - 32