Breakfast Casserole

Bacon + sausage + egg + milk + cheese + potatoes + bread does not = nutritious low fat energy breakfast for every day. But it DOES equal DELICIOUS!!! This is my “make-ahead-feed-an-army” version of a country breakfast fry up that is one of my favourite things to order when I go out for brunch (especially if I had a few too many champers the night before). A ginormous plate loaded with eggs, sausage, bacon, potatoes and toast on the side. Hold the greens thanks! Oh wait. I felt so guilty about not even adding some cherry tomatoes or bell peppers (capsicums), I decided I better add some greens. So I sprinkled parsley on. See? There’s your greens for the morning! 😉

What this breakfast casserole tastes like

It has all the flavours of a country breakfast fry up, in casserole form. The bread under the surface is custardy and tastes like a savoury French Toast. Almost like an Omelette. And the bread poking out on the surface is buttery, crispy and golden. Combine that with the tasty browned sausage, BACON, potato and cheese, and it’s a fully loaded breakfast for champions!

The lovely golden, buttery surface

My way of making breakfast casserole is a little different to the usual where the bread is torn into chunks and soaked in egg mixture. What I like to do is use slices of baguette, soak in egg mixture and stand them upright in the baking dish, then drizzle with butter so the top gets lovely and golden. But you know what? This will shock you! This breakfast bake serves 8 and each serving has 645 calories. Compared to a breakfast fry up which typically has over 1,000 calories per serving for 2 eggs, 2 rashers of bacon, 2 sausages, some potatoes and toast. Did you know that? Wait a second. Did I just convince myself this is healthy?? 😉 – Nagi x

More breakfast and brunch recipes

Nowadays, I put on brunches more than I do lunches! Here are some of my favourites to make for a crowd:

Shakshuka – Middle Eastern baked eggs in a spiced tomato broth Frittata and Frittata Egg Muffins – terrific big batch make ahead food Quiche Lorraine and Italian Sausage Quiche Homemade Sausage and Egg McMuffins – the sausage patties taste just like Maccers!! Crispy Cheesy Sausage Hash Browns Ham, Egg and Cheese Pockets or Bread Bowls – no washing up!

  SaveSave SaveSave

Sausage   Bacon Country Breakfast Casserole - 6Sausage   Bacon Country Breakfast Casserole - 40Sausage   Bacon Country Breakfast Casserole - 82Sausage   Bacon Country Breakfast Casserole - 10Sausage   Bacon Country Breakfast Casserole - 85Sausage   Bacon Country Breakfast Casserole - 36