Juicy seasoned beef patties drowning in an outrageously delicious Mushroom Gravy, this Salisbury Steak recipe has been tried and loved by readers from all over the world… now it’s your turn! 🙂

Salisbury Steak

There’s a homeless guy who lives at our local dog park. He’s a valuable member of our community – he knows all the locals, looks after the park like it’s his own backyard, and he tells the worst jokes. 😂 Anyway, the story of this Salisbury Steak recipe is that I regularly take hot meals down to him, sometimes even fancy-sounding things like tartare, confit duck. As we approached Christmas one year, I asked him what, of all the meals I took to him that year, his favourite meals were. And he said “Oh, those burgers with the mushroom gravy were spectacular!” So I made them again for him, then I published the recipe on my site the next day. 🙂 This was back in 2015, and that’s how this Salisbury Steak recipe came to be on my website!

How to make Salisbury Steak 

Salisbury steak involves making seasoned beef patties using mince / ground beef, then making a mushroom gravy. In my recipe, there’s just two little things I do differently to the usual Salisbury Steak recipe that takes these up a notch: Great Hamburger patties are made with nothing more than good quality ground beef, salt and pepper. Whereas the ingredients in Salisbury Steak patties are more like meatballs – including breadcrumbs, onion and flavourings such as Worcestershire sauce.

Salisbury Steak is pretty much me on a plate. Wholesome, homely, down to earth good food that’s economical, packs a flavour punch but is not fiddly or time consuming to make. The homeless man and I have very similar tastes! – Nagi x

WATCH HOW TO MAKE IT

Sometimes it helps to have a visual – so watch me make this Salisbury Steak!

 LIFE OF DOZER

Every morning over the summer break. PS He’s leaping to catch sand. No interest in the usual toys!

SaveSave SaveSave SaveSave SaveSave SaveSave SaveSave SaveSave

Salisbury Steak with Mushroom Gravy - 64Salisbury Steak with Mushroom Gravy - 27Salisbury Steak with Mushroom Gravy - 13Salisbury Steak with Mushroom Gravy - 64Salisbury Steak with Mushroom Gravy - 26