I may never make potato gratin again without plonking a chicken on it while it bakes. The extra flavour it adds is truly incredible. Plus, the chicken skin splatters onto the surface of the potato while it roasts which helps create a golden, crispy surface on the potato gratin. I got this idea from a Gourmet Traveller Australia recipe – one I fleetingly saw on Pinterest which I haven’t been able to find again. You would think searching “Chicken and potato” on the Gourmet Traveller website would locate it…..but no….(Update: Found it! It was actually a roast LAMB on scalloped potatoes. I might try it!) This is great for entertaining because it looks pretty darn spectacular (if I do say so myself!) but it’s fast to assemble. And you probably have most of the ingredients you need for the Rub in your pantry already – it’s just garlic and onion powder, paprika and dried thyme. The Rub recipe is adapted from this Rotisserie Style Chicken recipe by my friend Meggan from Culinary Hill. It’s one of the first recipes I tried from her blog and it’s a keeper!! (PS Those charred bits on the chicken are the BEST!!)

The task that takes the most effort is slicing the potatoes so having a slicer is really handy. This slicer is my favourite kitchen gadget (truly!) because it has 4 adjustable thicknesses with NO SET UP! I do have a huge fancy schamncy slicer set with a gazillion bits and pieces but I never ever use it. In fact….hmm….I don’t even think it’s in my kitchen….it must be in the garage… Two dishes. One skillet. The new age of one pot cooking! – Nagi x

  SaveSave

Rotisserie Flavoured Chicken and Potato Bake - 25Rotisserie Flavoured Chicken and Potato Bake - 15Rotisserie Flavoured Chicken and Potato Bake - 28Rotisserie Flavoured Chicken and Potato Bake - 25