Sweet potato is probably my most underused vegetable, and I have no idea why. It has superfood status, it’s packed with nutrition and it’s a potato. Carb Monster, right here. Potato Girl. Yet to meet a form of potato – sweet or regular – that I don’t love. That’s going to change in the coming months. I actually love sweet potato, it’s just never made my weekly shopping basket. Nowadays, I always have it and I’ve been making some great quick meals using sweet potato rather than regular ones. I’ve also been experimenting with things like making truly crispy baked sweet potato fries and wedges. I had hoped to bring the fries to you this week, but I’m still not happy with them. So we’ll just need to make to with these Roasted Sweet Potato Stacks!

Now, I’m not going to lie to you – there’s considerable knife skills involved in slicing enough sweet potato to make these stacks. Though you can make short work of it by using a mandolin. But honestly, don’t worry if the slices aren’t super thin or consistent thickness. The thing is, sweet potato bakes up more like pumpkin than regular potatoes. It’s far more moist inside, and it doesn’t go as crispy on the edges. So it doesn’t really matter whether the slices are super thin or not. 🙂 You’ll see in the video when I cut one of these babies open!

I keep the flavouring of these Roasted Sweet Potato Stacks quite straight forward. The sweetness of the potato intensifies when baked, and the edges caramelise (my favourite part!). Add a touch of salt, and the herby-ness of some rosemary (sweet potato + rosemary is a great pairing), and that’s all I think it needs. 🙂 I do need to warn though, if you make these for a holiday feast, there’s every chance they may steal the show! – Nagi x PS. Don’t worry if you don’t have a muffin tin, see recipe notes. PPS. If you like this, then you’ll love this large format variation: Spiral Sweet Potato Bake!

WATCH HOW TO MAKE IT

Roasted Sweet Potato Stacks recipe video!

LIFE OF DOZER

Flashing his pearly whites…. (i.e. sprawled on his back so his flappy jowls are revealing his sharky teeth!)

Roasted Sweet Potato Stacks - 88Roasted Sweet Potato Stacks - 63Roasted Sweet Potato Stacks - 25Roasted Sweet Potato Stacks - 42Roasted Sweet Potato Stacks - 40Roasted Sweet Potato Stacks - 49Roasted Sweet Potato Stacks - 77