I’m on a mission to post a meat free dish every single week. (Desserts don’t count!) In fact, I think I’m going to create an entire section on my blog, dedicated to Meat-Free Recipes for Carnivores. If I do that, then there will be more accountability. I’ll be more motivated to regularly come up with meat-free recipes that are so delish that even carnivores like myself won’t miss meat. I think that’s a good little project! I’ll work my way through the A – Z of veggies and create a recipe that “stars” each vegetable. So pumpkin is well and truly ticked off with this recipe! This Roasted Pumpkin with Maple, Chilli and Feta is really meaty and seriously addictive. Something magical happens to pumpkin when you roast it. It intensifies the sweetness and caramelises beautifully. But I’ve stepped it up a notch by adding a dash of maple syrup which makes the caramelisation and sweetness even more intense.

Then to add an interesting twist, I’ve added a very generous amount of dried chili flakes. The kick of chili is such a great contrast to the sweetness of the pumpkin! Finish it off with a crumble of salty, sharp feta and prepare for a bite of heaven. Mmmmm…. Oh wait! I forgot! I also tossed in some walnuts for crunch, as well as the pumpkin seeds (why waste them?!). I like the slight bitterness of walnuts but honestly, you can use whatever nuts you have. Almonds, pistachios, pine nuts and pecans would go especially well. But even peanuts will work! You just want something to add a bit of crunch, otherwise it’s a bit one dimensional. 🙂 I made this with Kent pumpkin (aka Jap pumpkin) because it was on sale at just $0.99/kg ($0.99/2lb)! I’ve been eating pumpkin A LOT this past week. 🙂 But you can make this with any type of pumpkin or even squash. Do you have a favourite way to prepare pumpkin? – Nagi

 

Roasted Pumpkin with Maple  Chili and Feta - 37Roasted Pumpkin with Maple  Chili and Feta - 82Roasted Pumpkin with Maple  Chili and Feta - 98Roasted Pumpkin with Maple  Chili and Feta - 70Roasted Pumpkin with Maple  Chili and Feta - 17