Make-ahead winner: Roast Pumpkin, Spinach and Feta Salad

I want to regale you with tales of how I always make this Roast Pumpkin, Spinach and Feta Salad for lunch with the girls. How perfect it is for a lazy weekend get together because it’s make ahead and a crowd pleaser because it’s got enough oomph to be a meal in itself whilst still being healthy and gluten free too. (Who else needs to cater for varying diets at get togethers??) I’ve even recommended this to numerous friends who have come to me asking for ideas for make ahead lunch recipes. But truthfully, I have never made this for my friends. I can’t ever embellish about what I’ve made for friends because weirdly, some of them actually read my blog and they would call me out. Some of these friends are serious corporate types, jet setting around the world, taking important meetings and working on top secret projects. It amuses me no end that in between reading board papers and information memorandums, they read my posts as I dribble on about whatever deliciousness I’m sharing on that day and Dozer antics. Te he he!!! Today’s deliciousness -> This Roast Pumpkin, Spinach and Feta Salad that I’ve never made for them.

This is a really terrific combination of flavours, and I think of this as quite a classic salad. I’m sure I picked it up from a Women’s Weekly magazine many years ago. The roasted pumpkin is sweet and juicy, the feta adds pops of salty creaminess, the pine nuts add a warm, earthy crunch, the freshness from spinach, all lightly dressed with a Honey Balsamic Dressing. You really don’t need that much dressing for this salad, just enough to coat the baby spinach. Plus, I don’t know if it’s just Aussie baby spinach, but dressing just never sticks well to baby spinach. So I really mean it when I say this salad is light on the dressing!

I know pine nuts are quite expensive so are a bit of an indulgence, but you don’t need much. You can substitute it with other nuts, but if you’re making this to impress guests, it’s worth using pine nuts. No other nuts have that same soft, creamy crunch and the distinct flavour of…. well, pine nuts. 😉

This is not a difficult salad to make but I have a few tips that I’ve picked up over the years, like roasting the pumpkin so it’s golden but still holds its shape rather than turning into mush. I usually serve this at room temperature but it’s great warm too. Also, rocket lettuce (arugula for those on the other side of the pond) works well with this if you want a bit more of an edge to it. I like using baby spinach because the flavour and texture is quite soft, unlike other lettuces that are really crunchy. Good way to kick off a new week, with a healthy salad! Giving myself a pat on the back. 😉 – Nagi x

WATCH HOW TO MAKE IT

Roast Pumpkin, Spinach and Feta Salad recipe video! PS That pumpkin Dozer gets at the end is raw. RAW. 😳

LIFE OF DOZER

Contemplating whether this meatless meal is worth begging for.

Roast Pumpkin  Spinach and Feta Salad - 58Roast Pumpkin  Spinach and Feta Salad - 54Roast Pumpkin  Spinach and Feta Salad - 21Roast Pumpkin  Spinach and Feta Salad - 87Roast Pumpkin  Spinach and Feta Salad - 15Roast Pumpkin  Spinach and Feta Salad - 53Roast Pumpkin  Spinach and Feta Salad - 54