The third and final Thanksgiving recipe from a Sassy Lady from the South whose recipes are starring in the 2016 Thanksgiving Special here on RecipeTin Eats. Wow. This Pumpkin Cake was a HUGE hit with my taste testers! Pumpkin cake isn’t common in Australia, so I was particularly keen to hear what my taste testers thought of it. I had a group of my mother’s golfing friends around for a midweek Thanksgiving feast taste testing session and also made this cake again for my friends. Resounding feedback was – YUM!!!! I think I’m single handedly going to start a pumpkin cake crusade here in Australia. I know I’ve converted at least 15 people already. Just another 24.9 million to go. 😉 Dorothy – the Sassy Lady from the South who is credited with this years’ Thanksgiving Special – calls this recipe “Pumpkin Bars” because she makes it in a slightly larger pan so the cake is thinner, thus it looks more like bars when cut. Mine is around 25% taller than hers (based on rough maths!), which is why it looks more like cake than bars. And hence why I changed the name to Pumpkin Cake. 🙂 I do hope she’s not offended. Actually, I should say I hope her son is not offended. Because I am told this Pumpkin Cake is actually her sons’ recipe. Perhaps not created by him – well, I know it wasn’t created by him. But he “owns” it now, ever since he was a wee kid and was told by the Sassy Lady from the South that if he wanted more Pumpkin Bars, he could very well get into the kitchen and make it himself. So he did. And now he’s the Pumpkin Bar King of the family. <3 And now I’ve gone and used his recipe to make Pumpkin Cake. Oh wait. Not exactly the same. I used fresh instead of canned pumpkin. Because, dear US readers, this may surprise you, but we don’t have canned pumpkin here in Australia! To be honest, I’m actually sort of glad that we don’t have it here because it means I have to use fresh pumpkin. Gosh, I have to say, I really was actually quite surprised at how enthusiastically this cake was received by my taste testers. Don’t get me wrong, I love it – a lot. But my taste testers, they LOVED it. Capital letters and bold. Of course the cream cheese frosting scored high marks – always does. But that cake….it is just so soft, tender and moist! Truly fantastic. Things brings to a close the 2016 Thanksgiving Special here on RecipeTin Eats. It’s been an epic one, starring recipes from the Sassy Lady from the South. You can get the full menu in the Cajun Turkey Breast recipe (that recipe is not only genius, it is so incredibly delish!). I do hope this week will provide some inspiration for those of you in the States celebrating Thanksgiving next week! – Nagi xx

2016 THANKSGIVING SPECIAL

Get the full menu here.

LIFE OF DOZER

a) Cruelb) Cutec) Funnyd) All of the above

Pumpkin Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting - 22Pumpkin Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting - 82Pumpkin Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting - 93Pumpkin Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting - 94Pumpkin Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting - 50Pumpkin Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting - 73Pumpkin Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting - 60