Along with the classic Slow Cooked Lamb Shanks in Red Wine Sauce, there’s nothing tricky about this recipe. Just patience to let them cook slowly. Budget ingredients to make posh restaurant food!

Port Braised Lamb Shanks

I think I’m a pretty relaxed cook but regular readers know I have a few gripes. One is pretty photos for recipes that taste blah. And the other is recipes that demand that expensive wine be used for cooking, otherwise, don’t bother. I love my wine. And if I buy expensive wine, I want to drink it straight. Not simmered for 3 hours. And I guarantee, if the poshest of restaurant critics did a taste test of these Port Braised Lamb Shanks with an expensive vs discount bottle of port, they would struggle to tell the difference! (And the New York Times agrees….) I won’t deny that using a $50 vs $10 bottle of port makes a difference. But the difference is not worth $40, I promise you that. These Port Braised Lamb Shanks taste so expensive, you can tell your guests you used a vintage 1980’s port and they would believe you! 😉

Even with the simplest of ingredients, slow cooking does wonders and I truly believe this to be an epic example of such. It is the same with my Italian Beef Ragu and Irish Beef Stew. And this Port Braised Lamb Shanks is right up there with them. Look at that sauce. Glistening, rich, full of flavour.

Cooking Lamb Shanks

Lamb Shanks is one of my favourite slow cooking cuts. Cooking meat on the bone is always the best way to slow cook meats, like with slow cooked Beef Short Ribs and Osso Bucco. The meat is juicier and I’m 100% convinced it’s more flavourful too! Lamb shanks are a tough cut of meat that require slow cooking to turn them into molten goodness. The cheaper and tougher the cut, the more flavourful. And lamb shanks are no exception. There is no need to provide a knife when you serve this. The meat is so soft, you just need a fork. Or spoon. 🙂

I made this in my dutch oven, but you can make it in a slow cooker or even in the oven and I’ve provided instructions for all in the recipe. When I’m entertaining, slow cooked foods like this are my “go to” because they’re impressive and can be made ahead. They taste fantastic on the day, but even better the day after – and the day after! I really love serving my Port Braised Lamb Shanks with creamy mashed potato. I’ve tried mashed cauliflower and polenta, but I just don’t think they are as good as the classic ole’ mash. Who else is up for some slow cooked comfort this weekend??? – Nagi x  

Beef Stew and Irish Guinness Stew Fall-apart Beef Ribs in Red Wine Sauce Beef Pot Roast with Gravy Shredded Beef Ragu Lamb Shanks in Red Wine Sauce or Port Braised Slow Roasted Lamb Leg or Lamb Shoulder Osso Buco – traditional Italian slow cooked veal Browse the Winter Comfort Food collection!

Save this Port Braised Lamb Shanks to your “Sides” Pinterest Board!

And let’s be friends on Pinterest so you can see all the delicious recipes I’m pinning!  

LIFE OF DOZER

Beach-wet-Dozer eyeing off the lamb shanks, thinking Christmas came early….

SaveSave SaveSave

Port Braised Lamb Shanks - 5Port Braised Lamb Shanks - 19Port Braised Lamb Shanks - 40Port Braised Lamb Shanks - 28Port Braised Lamb Shanks - 79Port Braised Lamb Shanks - 19Port Braised Lamb Shanks - 26Port Braised Lamb Shanks - 79Port Braised Lamb Shanks - 90