AND you won’t get your fingers caked with batter and breadcrumbs in the process of making them. Find out my little tricks!

Crunchy Baked Chicken Tenders

Have you ever made a recipe based on the photos showing a perfect golden BAKED crumbed chicken, only to find that: a) the crumbing comes out splotchy with some burnt bits and some white bits; and b) the crumbing is not that crunchy (unless you bake it so long the chicken overcooks)? My hand is raised high because I am one of those people. For many years, I was lulled into a false sense of hope each time I saw a photo of a perfectly golden “oven fried” crumbed chicken for a recipe. And I was disappointed every single time. (PS It’s called Photoshop. Food photographers can’t live without it, but have been known to abuse its powers!!!) Plus my other gripe with coating anything with breadcrumbs is that you end up with what I call “Marshmallow Fingers”, where the egg batter and breadcrumbs builds up with each piece of chicken you coat. So one day, I actually applied some brain power to solving these problems. I know, I’m a weirdo. It’s a testament as to how much I love crunchy crumbed things, and how much I fear frying (as well as what I consider to be a waste of oil). (Oh – and health matters too 🙄). And here’s my solution.

HOW TO MAKE PERFECT OVEN FRIED CHICKEN TENDERS

(without getting your fingers dirty!!!)

1 . Toast panko breadcrumbs in the oven for just 3 minutes. This gives them a head start on the colour so they come out an even golden brown all over AND dries them out even more to make them uber crunchy. For this recipe, I add parmesan cheese to the breadcrumbs for flavour and as the seasoning – no need to add any salt!

  1. Don’t dredge in flour then egg separately. Add the flour into the egg. This makes the batter slightly thicker, making the breadcrumbs adhere better to the chicken AND it avoids “Marshmallow Fingers”. (PS I also add mustard and mayo – for thickening + flavour + mayo helps make this taste fried!)

  2. Avoid messy fingers: Mix chicken in batter, pick it up with your left hand and place it in the breadcrumbs. Use your right hand to sprinkle with panko, press to adhere, then transfer to baking tray. No Marshmallow Fingers! Yay!

Here’s a comparison of the chicken before and after baking at a fairly high temperature (200C/390F) for 15 minutes (any longer and the chicken tenderloins will lose juiciness). Notice how there’s not that much difference? Good thing we toasted the breadcrumbs first! 🙂

Here’s an up close and personal look at these tenders. 🙂 I’ll let you be the judge – don’t you think they look like they’ve just come out of the deep fryer??? They certainly TASTE like they have!

Dipping Sauce for Chicken Tenders

I like to serve these Parmesan Oven Fried Chicken Tenders with a simple Ranch dipping sauce or Honey Mustard sauce, both of which I’ve provided in the recipe notes. But honestly, with the addition of parmesan, these are super flavourful plus nice and juicy inside (no dry overcooked chicken!!!), so I usually serve these without any sauce, with plain yogurt or sour cream, or lemon wedges. Serve this with a quick Every Day Cabbage Salad or or a garden salad with French, Italian or Balsamic Dressing!   – Nagi x

More crunchy crumbed chicken 

Golden Baked Chicken Cordon Bleu Crunchy Baked Chicken Tenders – the original recipe on which this parmesan version is based Crispy Parmesan Crusted Chicken Breast – LOW CARB marvel! Shortcut Healthy Crunchy Chicken Schnitzel

Life of Dozer

So embarrassed in this jumper, he can’t even look at the camera. 😉 It’s so cruel that I dress him up just for my own amusement!!!

Oven Fried Parmesan Chicken Tenders - 97Oven Fried Parmesan Chicken Tenders - 68Oven Fried Parmesan Chicken Tenders - 19Oven Fried Parmesan Chicken Tenders - 43Oven Fried Parmesan Chicken Tenders - 66Oven Fried Parmesan Chicken Tenders - 32Oven Fried Parmesan Chicken Tenders - 21Oven Fried Parmesan Chicken Tenders - 22Oven Fried Parmesan Chicken Tenders - 58Oven Fried Parmesan Chicken Tenders - 54Oven Fried Parmesan Chicken Tenders - 83