I’m a big fan of one pot chicken and rice recipes like Baked Rotisserie Chicken with Garlic Butter Rice, Chinese Chicken and Rice, Cheesy Chicken Broccoli and Rice and Mexican Chicken Rice. Big flavours, two dishes made in ONE pot!

Oven Baked Chicken with Cranberry, Walnut and Apple Rice Pilaf. That’s somewhat of a mouthful of a recipe name, isn’t it??!! Oh wait – “mouthful”. Head smack Talk about a bad joke. In the lead up to Christmas, it’s always festive-food-heavy around here. So I thought I’d sneak in a quick dinner recipe, with a festive spin. This is literally something I made up on the weekend. Inspired by Christmassy flavours, and wanting to use up leftover cranberries and nuts from all the Christmassy cooking that’s been going on around here.

This recipe is based on the cooking method I use for my Baked Chicken and Rice which is, as strange as it may sound, probably the all time most popular recipe on my site – ever. Which, even though it sounds so ordinary and unexciting, actually makes me really happy because I feel like Chicken and Rice is a staple meal for many households around the world, so it’s nice to be able to share one that is really super tasty and yet very simple and quick to make. My little but big-impact trick to make a baked chicken and rice extra tasty is to “oven saute” onion in butter before adding the rice. Just plonk onion, garlic and dollops of butter in a pan and bake while you prepare the rest of the recipe. It truly makes all the difference. There is a reason why onion and garlic is the starting point for so many savoury recipes – because it’s a great flavour base. And I start my stovetop pilaf with sautéed onion, so I do the same for my baked pilaf.

Other than that, the only other key thing that makes all the difference is getting the liquid to rice ratios right. Because soggy rice is a big no-no in my world, and baked rice is more prone to being soggy if you overdo the liquid by even 1/4 cup. I love baking the cranberries and walnuts in the rice itself. The cranberries become plump as they suck in the apple-herb infused broth (oh wait, have I mentioned the rice is cooked in an apple juice broth?? It’s SO GOOD!!!), and the walnuts soften but still retains that soft crunch. Also, the walnuts and cranberries end up on the surface of the rice so they get nice and toasty.

Before I sign off, quick apology for delayed response to messages and cooking questions over the weekend. The RecipeTin Family were busy catering a Christmas party for Mama RecipeTin and 30 of her friends. An extensive canapé menu plus buffet, ending with what I’m calling the Never-Ending Meringue Tart, a 2 metre long construction made with a meringue tart shell, topped with cream and fruit. Easier to make than Pavlova, the meringue can be made days and days in advance, and I thought it was a nice statement dessert that is great for feeding lots of people. 🙂 Here it is at the Christmas Party. What you see there only required 7 egg whites and fed 30 people – can you believe that?? Pretty cool! Though… had to make do with baking paper to serve it. Searched my cupboards but couldn’t find a platter that long….. 😂

Oh – and here’s a photo I took when I did a test run at home. Want the recipe? 😉 (PS Reminder – super duper easy! Easier than Pav! Make as loooooong as you want!)

Umm, better actually finish up with a photo of the recipe I’m sharing today – Oven Baked Chicken and Rice Pilaf with Cranberries, Walnuts and Apple. 😂 An easy festive-inspired dinner made in one pan! – Nagi x PS The simple Sticky Chicken is really fantastic but I have to say, the real star of this is the Cranberry, Walnut and Apple Pilaf. Can’t-Stop-Eating-It delicious. PPS Look closely ↓↓↓ No sign of soggy, gluey rice. It’s fluffy! Fluffy fluffy!

WATCH HOW TO MAKE IT

LIFE OF DOZER

Bank meetings are never dull when Dozer tags along! (This is at the Commonwealth Bank in Mona Vale. I live in a VERY dog friendly area!!!) (When he stood up, the carpet under him was no longer grey – it was gold. 😂)

SaveSave SaveSave SaveSave SaveSave SaveSave SaveSave SaveSave SaveSave SaveSave

Oven Baked Chicken and Rice Pilaf  Cranberry  Walnut  Apple  - 8Oven Baked Chicken and Rice Pilaf  Cranberry  Walnut  Apple  - 93Oven Baked Chicken and Rice Pilaf  Cranberry  Walnut  Apple  - 8Oven Baked Chicken and Rice Pilaf  Cranberry  Walnut  Apple  - 99Oven Baked Chicken and Rice Pilaf  Cranberry  Walnut  Apple  - 85Oven Baked Chicken and Rice Pilaf  Cranberry  Walnut  Apple  - 71Oven Baked Chicken and Rice Pilaf  Cranberry  Walnut  Apple  - 31Oven Baked Chicken and Rice Pilaf  Cranberry  Walnut  Apple  - 77Oven Baked Chicken and Rice Pilaf  Cranberry  Walnut  Apple  - 80Oven Baked Chicken and Rice Pilaf  Cranberry  Walnut  Apple  - 93Oven Baked Chicken and Rice Pilaf  Cranberry  Walnut  Apple  - 87