This was an accidental discovery. Sometimes it amazes me that I go to the grocery store almost every day and yet when I start making dinner, I’m missing a crucial ingredient. Like spaghetti for spaghetti bolognaise. Seriously. Who doesn’t have dried spaghetti in the pantry at all times? I know, I’m weird. I think it’s the Japanese blood in my veins. I always have rice. But I don’t always have pasta. I was about to get started with dinner when I realised I didn’t have spaghetti but I did have orzo. (It’s similar to rice in shape. Maybe that’s why I had it! 😉 ) And then the laziness kicked in, and I wondered – could I cook it IN the bolognaise sauce if I got the liquid ratio right? Turns out you can. With absolutely zero comprise on flavour or texture. The orzo is perfectly al dente, and the bologanise is gloriously saucy.

You know what else I love about this? It’s great couch food. Have you ever tried eating spaghetti on the couch? Don’t do it! Well, if you do, wear a bib, have a pile of napkins beside you and I really hope your couch is NOT a white fabric couch. But this Orzo Bolognaise is perfect for eating on the couch. A bowl, a spoon and a glass of wine while you watch whatever show helps you wind down after a long day. You can keep your eyes glued to the screen so you don’t miss a single critical moment of Game of Thrones and manage to scoff down dinner at the same time. (Talent. That’s what it’s called. Like driving and eating.)

And if that wasn’t enough, this is a fantastic midweek meal because it takes just 20 minutes from start to finish. 20 minutes! It’s just ridiculously fast and easy (and delicious!). One key difference in this bolognaise sauce is that I make it using tomato passata instead of tinned tomatoes. I believe Americans also know it as tomato sauce (but not tomato sauce as Australians know it!). Passata is simply pureed tomatoes and nowadays it’s sold in all grocery stores and costs around the same as tinned tomatoes. I love using passata because the sauce is smoother and thicker, unlike with crushed tinned tomatoes which you need to cook for a while for the tomatoes to break down. This is the passata I use which you can find in the pasta section of Coles and Woolworths (supermarket chain in Australia). It comes in a large 25oz / 700g glass bottle. I keep the bottles and use them for all sorts of things, like storing sugar, salt, homemade stock. I even use them as vases and water jugs when I’m entertaining. OK! Signing off. I have a HUGE bowl of Orzo Bolognaise to scoff down! – Nagi x

And more One Pot Ground Beef / Mince recipes

Cheeseburger Casserole (Homemade Hamburger Helper) Chili Mac – mash up of Mac and Cheese with Chilli Con Carne, so good! Asian Beef and Ramen Noodles – one skillet, 15 minutes Beef and Veggies with Rice Taco Soup – don’t knock it until you’ve tried it, it’s amazing! Browse all One Pot recipes and Ground Beef / Mince recipes

 

One Pot Orzo   Risoni Bolognaise - 52One Pot Orzo   Risoni Bolognaise - 39One Pot Orzo   Risoni Bolognaise - 55One Pot Orzo   Risoni Bolognaise - 19One Pot Orzo   Risoni Bolognaise - 35One Pot Orzo   Risoni Bolognaise - 70One Pot Orzo   Risoni Bolognaise - 79