“OMG, it actually has layers in it!”, my friend exclaimed when I served up this lasagna for lunch today. YES, this does! Have you seen one-pot lasagnas floating around on the internet? I think Martha Stewart started the craze. Here’s the thing though. I am yet to see a “one pot” lasagna that actually looks like a lasagna. None of the ones I have seen actually have layers. They are more like a pasta bake with a delicious mess of broken up lasagna sheets mixed up with the filling and sauce. So I guess you are wondering how I managed to get these layers in without scooping out the filling then creating layers like a traditional lasagna? It’s super easy! It’s much easier to show you as explaining it gets wordy, so here are step by step pictures (Baby Hands Alert!!).

Basically, you make the beef filling first. Then you slide a dry lasagna sheet in from the side so you can get it under the filling as best you can. Then you do the same with broken up bits to fill the edges in – I just needed four (one for each side around the main piece of lasagna). I use a spoon to push the pieces down and to spoon filling over the pieces. It’s not an exact science but as you can see from the photo, it works pretty well! Be generous with the broken bits, the overlapping is how you get more than 2 layers in some parts of the lasagna. Once the bottom layer has been done, you just cover the surface with more lasagna sheets. Then pour over reserved tomato passata (pureed tomato) that I flavour with some seasonings, cover with cheese and bake. You won’t get 3 or 4 layers like you do with traditional lasagna because this isn’t made the traditional way. BUT as you can see from the photo, you do get 2 layers, and 3 where the lasagna sheets overlap. And it looks far more like a real lasagna than just mixing broken up pieces of lasagna sheets into the pan. See?

I’ve gone a bit lasagna crazy this week, trying out various versions. I’ve made it with this traditional tomato beef filling, a white chicken lasagna as well as a vegetarian version. I don’t know which I like best but I had to start off by sharing the classic beef one. 🙂 It really is that easy. Really! I am not convinced I’ll ever make lasagna the traditional way again….. OK, I lie. I will. Because I do think the béchamel sauce is worth making the effort for, when you have the time. In a separate pot. 🙂 – Nagi

  SaveSave

One Pot Lasagna - 56One Pot Lasagna - 9One Pot Lasagna - 50One Pot Lasagna - 37One Pot Lasagna - 96