No Bake Mango Cheesecake

When I photograph beautiful cakes like this, it sometimes makes me wish I wasn’t the Queen of Brown Food. Salisbury Steak, Pot Roast, Beef and Mushroom Pie, Cottage Pie, Guinness Stew, Chickpea Curry, Lentil Soup…. if it’s brown-and-ugly-but-delicious, there’s a good chance I’ve already shared it and had the pleasure of trying to capture a photo of a pile of brown gloop so it looks as irresistibly delicious as it tastes. Though just writing that list out reminds me of all that saucy brown deliciousness….. and actually, no. I would never give up my brown foods to be a pretty cake blog! 😂 This No Bake Mango Cheesecake is a classic example of what started out as a cruisy week ending up in a whirlwind of mango pureed chaos / bliss. I happened across bargain scruffy looking mangoes at Harris Farm Markets (Instagram followers know I’m there practically every day!) – $2.99 / kg (that’s $1.50/lb) for beautiful ripe, juicy mangoes that were blemished on the outside yet perfect on the inside. Helloooooo mangoes! She who can’t resist a bargain loaded up, and this was the result:

Classic cheesecake biscuit base. Creamy insanely mangoey mousse-like cheesecake filling – NO BAKE! Topped with mango jelly (soooo pretteee!), piled high with whipped cream (optional, but again, soooo pretteee!), more mangoes, and passionfruit – yet again, because… well, for no reason other than it’s soooo pretteee!!! 😂 If I’m making a mango cheesecake, it’s got to seriously taste of MANGO. As luck would have it, I shared my first mango cheesecake attempt live on Instagram stories just on Monday this week, the wonderful folk over at Mangoes Australia saw it and within 4 hours – this was delivered to my house. I KID YOU NOT!!!

A big, beautiful tray of ripe Honey Gold Mangoes for me to use to keep recipe testing so I could perfect the mango cheesecake to share here. PERKS OF THE JOB!!!!!!! Don’t get too jealous, if you could see the state in which I live and that I no longer have a dining room because I sacrificed it to use as my photography and video “studio” (a term I use loosely because it’s about as un-pro as a studio can be), and the frustration at times of making the same recipe over and over again in order to make it good enough to share on my blog, not to mention taking photos and filming the recipe video….. Oi. Plenty of recipe failures over here that never make it to the publishing table. VERY happy that this wasn’t one of them!!!

I think you’ll find that this mango cheesecake recipe has a wee bit more mango in it than others. Because I was determined that it be appropriately mangoey, rather than just a yellow cheesecake with a mango fragrance. This is made almost entirely in a food processor. I’d like to say in one go, but no. Biscuit base blitzed first, then the mangoes, then throw the other filling ingredients in, blitz and pour. Because this is a NO BAKE Mango Cheesecake, it’s made with gelatin to set the filling. I use powdered gelatin because it’s readily available at supermarkets (baking aisle) – as opposed to gelatine sheets. Also the setting strength of gelatin powder in different countries is very similar, whereas I’ve seen inconsistencies with gelatin sheets. There is no need to fear using gelatin powder!  Follow the recipe steps exactly – the key part is to sprinkle the gelatin powder over the surface of a bowl of water, rather than dumping in spoonfuls (which will result in clumps). And don’t stress even if you end up with clumps! I did in my first attempt and it still worked out fine – read the recipe notes for how to deal with this.

I promised that this No Bake Mango Cheesecake had a soft mousse-like filling, and here’s a photo to show you. Nothing like jelly, see? 🙂  Aerated – thanks to the food processor blitzing!

I decorated this with cream, more mangoes and passionfruit for no reason other than to make it look pretty. The cheesecake is fabulous as it is without these toppings. The first time I made it, I just piled on chopped mangoes and it was delicious but it was very orange, as you can imagine. The cream breaks up all that orangeness, it’s always welcomed in any dessert, and provides a soft cloud to pile up plenty more fresh mango and drizzle over passionfruit pulp, if you should choose. I gave away most of this cake because….well, dangerous!!! However, there’s a big chunky slice of this actual cake in these photos sitting in the fridge and I hear Netflix calling my name… Happy weekend! – Nagi xx

More Cheesecake recipes

Classic Baked Cheesecake Strawberry Cheesecake – a magical combination! Blueberry Cheesecake Bars Nutella Cheesecake Peanut Butter Cheesecake Stuffed Chocolate Loaf Mini Nutella No Bake Cheesecakes

WATCH HOW TO MAKE IT

Note: accidentally edited out the step in video where gelatine is added into filling! Please follow written recipe.

LIFE OF DOZER

I went to the bathroom and he took my spot! His motto: You snooze, you lose.

SaveSave SaveSave

No Bake Mango Cheesecake - 72No Bake Mango Cheesecake - 77No Bake Mango Cheesecake - 27No Bake Mango Cheesecake - 51No Bake Mango Cheesecake - 70No Bake Mango Cheesecake - 12No Bake Mango Cheesecake - 41No Bake Mango Cheesecake - 75No Bake Mango Cheesecake - 3No Bake Mango Cheesecake - 86No Bake Mango Cheesecake - 48