Mini Shrimp Tacos

I am literally beside myself with excitement, being able to share with you a chance to win an entire CASE of my favourite Australian wine – Turkey Flat. And not just for my Australian readers either – Australian AND AMERICAN readers!! {Just drop a comment below to enter!} ** Giveaway now finished!  Winners at the bottom of the post!** This is not a sponsored post! I was emailing back and forth with one of my readers (a certain lady from Portland, Oregon – you know who you are!) and she told me that she used to sell wine for a living. We got to chatting about Australian wines, and it made me think that I would love to do a giveaway of my favourite wine. Australia is known for great wine, and I’ve sampled my fair share since I hit the legal drinking age (OK, possibly from a couple of years before then….don’t tell my mum!). But there’s one that’s been near and dear to me since I was the tender age of 21, and today it still remains my “go to” wine for special occasions. It goes back to a girls’ weekend away to the Barossa Valley wine region in South Australia. It wasn’t the first time I’d been to vineyards – we have a great wine region called the Hunter Valley only a few hours drive from Sydney. But the Barossa is exceptional and produces what I believe to be the best wine in Australia. We trotted from vineyard to vineyard, sampling as much free wine as we could. Because, let’s be honest, when you’re a poor uni student, it’s not so much about swirling the wine and analysing the tannin, but more about how much wine we could get – for free. Sometimes I would buy the occasional bottle, but a case was way out of my budget. Until I visited Turkey Flat Vineyard. I fell in love with their Rosé. When they saw my enthusiasm, I got top up after top up (excellent sales tactic) and…well….that’s when it happened. I bought my first case of wine from a Vineyard. First ever. I absolutely couldn’t afford it. What (normal) uni student can afford to blow $300 on a case of wine?? I lived on canned baked beans for dinner for a while after that. Totally worth it. Here, have a good look at the offender that sent me broke 😉

When I have an all girls-only gathering, it seems expected that rosé  is present. And one of my favourite things to pair rosé with is seafood. So I’ve made these mini tacos filled with prawns / shrimp. Aren’t they cute? Do you make a mess of yourself when you eat tacos? I know I do! So these one-bite tacos are especially perfect for me. Making the mini taco shells is kinda fun. You don’t need any fancy moulds, just your oven rack! Cut rounds out of tortillas (use an empty can if you don’t have cutters – they are the perfect size!), brush with water (this is key to make them floppy), warm in the microwave then drape over the oven rack. Bake for 5 minutes then voila! Mini taco shells! Now, if you’ll excuse me, these are my lunch. Mmm….and I can’t let that wine go to waste so I get to have Turkey Flat rosé with my lunch! – Nagi ** See below recipe for how to enter to win one of four cases of Turkey Flat wine worth around $350 each! You just need to leave a comment below telling me what your favourite wine is and whether you live in Australia or America! **

Some more mini one-bite Appetizers!

Spicy Little Muffin Tin Chicken Tostadas Smoked Salmon Appetizer Bites Mini Pizza Potato Skins Vegetarian Garlic Stuffed Mushrooms Quiche Toast Cups – mini quiche made with bread! Thai Chicken Salad Wonton Cups and Caesar Salad Wonton Cups Browse all Party Food

    ** Giveaway closed! And the winners are: AUST – Vicky from Cloverdale, Karen from Newtown, US – Melissa from Redwood City, Connie from Somerville ** TO ENTER to win one of FOUR cases (12 bottles) of Turkey Flat Wine (~$350 value each!): Just drop a comment below and tell me what your favourite wine is! Also, please tell me: a) Whether you live in Australia or the US (I’m giving away 2 cases in each country, 4 cases in total!); and b) For US readers: Whether you prefer red or white (Australian winners will get mixed cases). Giveaway ends Friday 10 April 2015. Winner will be randomly selected by a Turkey Flat representative. There will be 2 winners from Australia and 2 in the US. ** Many thanks to Turkey Flat Vineyard for donating these 4 cases of wine for me, at my request, for my lovely readers who love wine as much as I do! In Australia, you can get most of their wines from large liquor stores or order online direct from Turkey Flat Vineyard.** AND THERE’S MORE!! The first 100 readers who purchase 6 wines from Turkey Flat will get 1 bottle free! So you get 6 but pay for 5! Just use the code “NagiLovesRose” when you check out. 🙂 (Only for Australian orders) SaveSave SaveSave

Mini Shrimp Tacos  Prawns  - 9Mini Shrimp Tacos  Prawns  - 30Mini Shrimp Tacos  Prawns  - 32Mini Shrimp Tacos  Prawns  - 86Mini Shrimp Tacos  Prawns  - 89Mini Shrimp Tacos  Prawns  - 11Mini Shrimp Tacos  Prawns  - 81Mini Shrimp Tacos  Prawns  - 15Mini Shrimp Tacos  Prawns  - 56Mini Shrimp Tacos  Prawns  - 1