I know there are a gazillion Mexican chicken recipes out there in this big-wide-cyber-world. I’m throwing my hat into the ring because I think this is a little different to most. The thing that {I think!} distinguishes this chicken recipe from many others is the sauce. The smoky, mildly spicy red sauce that is the end result of a handful of ingredients that are thrown into the slow cooker. See? Look. Dinner in three easy steps:

A key ingredient in this recipe is Chipotles in Adobo Sauce. To me, this is to Mexican cooking what soy sauce is to Asian cooking. Well, not soy sauce. More like oyster sauce or hoisin sauce. Because Adobo Sauce has a lot more complex flavours than soy sauce. It comes in a can and is dried chipotles in a thick smokey, tangy, spicy, slightly sweet red sauce. It’s not expensive, about $3 – and freezes great! I put it in small ziplock bags and break bits off as required. Brush onto meat and grill it, add it into sauces – it’s like a secret weapon for a quick blast of Mexican flavour. Though common throughout the US, it’s not yet mainstream in Australia (i.e. not at Coles, Woolworths), but I’m 20000% confident it will be in the near future as more and more people are discovering it’s magic power. I’ve listed places I know that sell it in the recipe (in Australia). This is what it looks like.

Aside from the gorgeous, rich red sauce, you may have noticed that the shredded chicken has beautiful crispy brown bits. Let me be clear – this does not and cannot happen from cooking in the sauce! I do an extra, optional step of browning the chicken. I really think this extra step is worth it because the browned parts are the best bits!! The caramelisation adds flavour and texture, plus it makes the massive pile of chicken even more enticing, don’t you think?? Actually, because I usually make this ahead, frying up the shredded chicken is not really an extra step because it’s how I reheat it. 🙂

This Mexican Shredded Chicken is ridiculously versatile, just like my Slow Cooker Pork Carnitas, one of the most popular recipes here on RecipeTin Eats (with good reason! 😉 ). Here are a few ideas:

Tacos – with all your favourite trimmings. This might be my favourite way…Here’s my Guacamole recipe and Pico de Gallo, in case you want them. 🙂 Enchiladas, Burritos, Sliders, Quesadillas, Taco Stack, Taco Soup, Enchilada Soup With Mexican Green Cilantro / Coriander Rice, or make a Mexican Red Rice

You have the option to serve this with the chicken tossed in the sauce, or to serve the sauce on the side, like in the photo below. I don’t have a preference for either, it really depends on the occasion, who I’m feeding (clearly not vegetarians), and how long I think the chicken will be sitting around for. If I think the chicken is going to be out for a while, I usually toss it in the sauce because it keeps the chicken nice and moist (chicken breast has a tendency to dry out quickly when it cools) without losing too much crispiness.

I really think I should sign off here. This post is getting long. Have you ever met anyone before who can write over 1,000 words about a Mexican chicken? No? Well, now you have. 🙂 – Nagi x P.S. Oh, just in case you need another eyeful of the chicken tossed in the sauce, here you go. Wipe your chin and get into your kitchen!

    Oh – and just in case you’re after PORK rather than chicken, here is a little peek at my PORK CARNITAS. Oi. So good. Check out those crunchy brown bits sparkling with the gorgeous flavoured juices!

Mexican Shredded Chicken - 54Mexican Shredded Chicken - 58Mexican Shredded Chicken - 4Mexican Shredded Chicken - 69Mexican Shredded Chicken - 74Mexican Shredded Chicken - 23Mexican Shredded Chicken - 42Mexican Shredded Chicken - 60Mexican Shredded Chicken - 96Mexican Shredded Chicken - 51Mexican Shredded Chicken - 41