I love chorizos for breakfast, like in Chorizo Baked Beans on Toast and Chorizo Breakfast Hash with Bacon and Smashed Potato. The big flavour punch is a wake up call!

I had to share this recipe today because I got an email from a reader yesterday who made me laugh with this message: “….my confession… I have a slight obsession with Chorizo… Best. Thing. Ever… Do you have any scrumptious recipes involving this godlike substance?” YES, I have plenty of recipes using chorizo. I call it my “secret weapon” in cooking. It is so loaded with flavour and I think the trick with chorizo is to make sure you don’t waste a scrap of that flavour! One of the ways to make the most of chorizo is to use the oil that is released when you brown it to cook other components of a dish. For example, in this One Pan Spanish Chicken with Chorizo, Tomato and Potatoes, the oil and flavour released by the chorizo is used as the base flavour for the sauce. In these breakfast tacos, the chorizo is browned THEN the egg is cooked in the same pan so it can soak up all the flavours of the chorizo. That’s why the egg has a slightly brown tinge to it – it’s all flavour! Golden rule in cooking – never throw out free flavour!

I went all out with these tacos so they are topped with pico de gallo (Mexican tomato salsa), avocado and even a sprinkle of feta (use cotija if you can!). You don’t have to! Just the eggs + chorizo is still fabulous. Oh – before I forget! This is made using raw chorizo which is essentially like a sausage. I removed it from the casing and then browned it, breaking it up like mince (ground meat). I like the crumbly texture that then mixes into the soft scrambled eggs. BUT you can make this with cured chorizo – the stuff that you see on antipasto platters that you can eat without cooking. It is a bit more of a pain because you will need to dice it. But it will have virtually the same flavour and the texture will only be slightly different. I made this with Spanish chorizo because – boo hoo – we don’t have Mexican chorizo here in Australia (that I know of….anyone care to correct me? Please!). Whichever you use, you can’t go wrong! 🙂 Now, please excuse me. My chubby little Baby Hands are done typing, it has something else it needs to do. Urgently. 🙂 – Nagi

  SaveSave

Mexican Breakfast Tacos  Chorizo and Egg  - 13Mexican Breakfast Tacos  Chorizo and Egg  - 21Mexican Breakfast Tacos  Chorizo and Egg  - 20Mexican Breakfast Tacos  Chorizo and Egg  - 26Mexican Breakfast Tacos  Chorizo and Egg  - 94