I’m sitting in a dark corner of Los Angeles International airport (squatting by a powerpoint!), writing this post for a recipe I cooked and photographed before I left for month long trip to Mexico and Los Angeles. It’s Monday night LA time and I won’t arrive home until Wednesday morning Sydney time because of the time difference. The flight actually isn’t that long – “only” 15 hours, far faster than the 24 hours it takes to get to London! But Sydney is 18 hours ahead of LA. Which is fantastic when I’m going TO America because I leave in the morning Sydney time, then I arrive in LA just after lunch on the same day. I never fail to get a kick out of that! However, on the way back, it works the other way and I lose an entire day. It’s a strange feeling to leave LA on a Monday and arrive home on a Wednesday!

I’ve never been disappointed with a trip overseas and this one was no exception. I visited Mexico City and Oaxaca (for Day of the Dead celebrations – wow, what a festival!), followed by some downtime in Playa Del Carmen then a week in Los Angeles. I have so many stories and photos to share which I’ll be doing in the coming weeks when I’ve had a chance to sort through them all. You know me – I can’t share stories without photos!!! Right now, I must admit that after almost 1 month away from home, I am very ready for a home cooked meal. These Leftover Mashed Potato Cakes are one of the last things I made before I left for my travels and just looking at these photos have me longing to be back in the kitchen in my own home. I know they aren’t fancy food, quite simple actually. I mean, they’re made with leftover mashed potatoes. But honestly, I tell you – add bacon and cheese to the potato, coat the patties in panko or flour then pan fry until golden and crispy….and WOAH! That’s how you turn the ordinary into extraordinary. I mean, look how crispy these are!!

Not that there’s anything magic about this recipe. Because you know just as well as me that any combination of potato + bacon + cheese + crispiness = irresistibleness. (Is that a real word? Spell check seems to think it is.) As much as I enjoy travelling and eating out, the core of me is a total homebody who just loves good home cooked food. And I can’t wait to get home and back into my kitchen! I’m just 15 hours away – yay!! 🙂 – Nagi x

 

Mashed Potato Cakes with Cheese   Bacon - 62Mashed Potato Cakes with Cheese   Bacon - 59Mashed Potato Cakes with Cheese   Bacon - 67Mashed Potato Cakes with Cheese   Bacon - 76Mashed Potato Cakes with Cheese   Bacon - 5