This Roasted Broccoli is the best broccoli recipe ever

4 1/2 years ago when I first shared this broccoli recipe, I stated that this was the best damn broccoli I had ever had in my life. And that still holds true. Sure, I’ve had fancier. Great chefs can work magic on the humble broccoli and turn it into a real fancy dish. But the thing that makes this particular recipe the best broccoli recipe ever is that it’s so quick and easy and yet so good! Roasting is the key here. Roasted broccoli has flavour that is puts plain steamed broccoli to shame!! It sweetens it, you get caramelisation, crunchy edges and it sucks up the flavour of the lemon juice. And when you finish it off with a little parmesan…. OMG. It’s just so damn good!!!

How to make the tastiest broccoli of your life

Ready to see how easy this is? Not much more effort than steaming it!

I don’t take credit for this Magic Broccoli. It is based on an Ina Garten recipe – though hers has more oil, pine nuts and basil. Terrific, but quite rich and a bit more fiddly than I’d make for day to day purposes (I make Magic Broccoli a lot!) So this recipe is a simplified and healthier version. I find that if you use too much oil when roasting broccoli, the florets soak it up like a sponge. So what should be a pretty healthy broccoli side becomes excessively rich and oily. Trust me, you do not need tons of oil to roast broccoli. Especially not when we finish it off with lemon and parmesan! So easy. SO DAMN DELICIOUS. It’s like….magic! ~ Nagi x  

Best broccoli recipe ever!

Watch how to make it

Magic Broccoli recipe video! In summary: Broccoli is a nutritional powerhouse and Magic Broccoli makes it easy to eat LOADS of it!!

Magic Broccoli originally shared in 2014. Updated with new photos, new video, all new words in post. No change to recipe – I wouldn’t dare!

Life of Dozer

I know I’ve already shared this photo on my blog, but I only put it up on Instagram this morning. I asked people to caption the photo – and some of the responses were so good, I had to share!! Caption This responses:

“Catch me mum 🐶” (To which I responded: “I’d be flattened – then in hospital!”😂) “Dozer for President” (At which I grinned just thinking what a great world it would be with giant “Dozer for President” banners all over the world…) “If Jaws was a dog….” “Houston, we have lift off!🚀🚀” “Me – when someone hands me a plate of Asian food” (To which I responded: Me too!!)

And you? Any suggestions??

SaveSave  

Magic Broccoli - 93Magic Broccoli - 70Magic Broccoli - 92Magic Broccoli - 31Magic Broccoli - 41