The very first feature I did for Super Food Ideas magazine was called “Double Duty” where I shared recipes where one base mixture was used for two purposes. So for example, I did a Garlic Lime Marinated Prawns (Shrimp) with Green Rice where one lime and garlic mixture was used to marinate the prawns and as the flavour base for a green spinach rice. Using a salad dressing as a marinade for chicken is Double Duty in its simplest form and this Lemon Chicken Salad is a terrific example where the Lemon Dressing works as a fantastic marinade to infuse chicken with flavour – quickly!

THE LEMON DRESSING

The Lemon Dressing is made with both lemon zest and lemon juice. That way, it actually tastes of lemon. Which might sound strange I know. But actually, lemon juice is just sour. All the lemon flavour is in the skin. So if you want lemon flavoured anything, you need to use the zest!

CHICKEN BREAST OR THIGH!

If I post a chicken thigh recipe, I absolutely guarantee someone will ask if it can be made with breast. If I post a chicken breast recipe, someone always asks if it can be made with thigh. So nowadays, I just make sure I cover that off in every single chicken recipe I do. YES you can make this with chicken breast. YES you can make it with chicken thighs!

I had a bit of a shocker filming and photographing this recipe. I kept forgetting a key ingredient and had to make it over and over again. Which, actually, is not the worst thing in the world because I would scoff it down for lunch within seconds of the last click of the camera. The last time I filmed it, I was patting myself on the back for remembering everything for the salad – then wailed in frustration when I realised I forgot the bacon. Hence why some photos have bacon – and some do not. The video does not. 😤 But in all honesty, it’s an optional extra. Bacon makes everything better. But this Lemon Chicken Salad is terrific even without it! – Nagi x

Watch how to make it

MORE CHICKEN SALADS YOU’LL LOVE

Chicken Caesar Salad Hawaiian Chicken Salad Chicken Salad with Avocado Dressing Chinese Chicken Salad Thai Chicken Salad Mexican Avocado Chicken Salad Chicken Pasta Salad More giant Salads for Meals

Life of Dozer

If he gets any closer to the heater, we might be having roasted Dozer for dinner tonight….

Lemon Chicken Salad - 41Lemon Chicken Salad - 15Lemon Chicken Salad - 48Lemon Chicken Salad - 95Lemon Chicken Salad - 17Lemon Chicken Salad - 11