Finished with a lemon glaze, this is a simple cake that you can whip up on short notice. Yoghurt keeps the cake moist so it lasts for days and days! It’s the same batter used in this Blueberry Lemon Cake and Strawberry Cake.

Lemon Cake recipe

This Lemon Cake is one of my emergency quick and easy cake recipes, something I can get in the oven super quickly when I’m short on time. There’s no creaming of butter required, it’s a quick dump-and-mix cake. (When I’m longer on time I might instead plump for this sponge-based Lemon Cake with Fluffy Lemon Frosting …) The “secret ingredient” in this is yoghurt. Yoghurt is a brilliant baking ingredient because it thickens the batter which means less flour required which = more moist cake. 🙂 I love how golden brown this cake is straight out of the oven. It almost glows!

Lemon Glaze

In the spirit of this being a simple teacake, I keep the frosting simple too. I just use a Glaze or a quick Cream Cheese Frosting. For the glaze, I like to make the glaze a bit thicker than typical glazes because it adds that extra oomph of sweetness and stickiness to the cake, as opposed to cutting it in half and sandwiching it with something. Added bonus: I love how the drips look and how the glaze isn’t see through.

If a glaze isn’t your thing or you want more frosting, I’ve also included my quick Cream Cheese Frosting. This is different to the usual Cream Cheese Frosting I use for things like Red Velvet and Carrot Cake which requires a stand mixer and a good 7 minutes of fast beating. In the spirit of the simplicity of this quick Lemon Cake recipe, I use my shortcut Cream Cheese Frosting which I make simply by mixing spreadable Cream Cheese (comes in tubs, not blocks) with lemon juice and icing sugar. No stand mixer required, no need to even wait to soften the cream cheese. Just mix it up with a wooden spoon, dollop and spread. 🙂

You know that pretty cake decorations aren’t my thing. I’d probably spend more time styling a giant plate of slow cooked meat than I would spend decorating a towering cake! 😂 So in my usual form, I’ve kept it nice and simple – just some lemon slices and a few sprigs of baby’s breath from a bunch I happened to have.

This cake may be simple but in all honesty, it’s probably the cake I made most often last year. I actually intended to share it earlier this year, but then I got all excited because blueberries came into season so I published the Blueberry Lemon Cake instead (same cake, but with blueberries). So I sat on this Lemon Cake recipe for a couple of months until an adequate amount of time had passed. And finally, I’m sharing it! – Nagi x

More quick, emergency cakes

No creaming butter, no stand mixer for any of these!

WATCH HOW TO MAKE IT

Watch how to make this lemon cake!

LIFE OF DOZER

You can just imagine the thoughts running through that furry head: “Will I make it to the door??” “How hard would it be to scoff it down on the run??” “I wonder if she’s going to frost it? 😳 Maybe I should wait…”

Lemon Cake with Lemon Glaze - 39Lemon Cake with Lemon Glaze - 23Lemon Cake with Lemon Glaze - 99Lemon Cake with Lemon Glaze - 45Lemon Cake with Lemon Glaze - 7Lemon Cake with Lemon Glaze - 39Lemon Cake with Lemon Glaze - 21Lemon Cake with Lemon Glaze - 41