Is it just me who always has leftover pasta? It seems impossible to make just enough. I seem to be able to manage it with many other things. But I always make too much pasta! I once read an article about how everything tastes better when it’s eaten the next day. There was all this science behind the logic. I have to say, I don’t care what the science is, there are some things that simply do not taste as good the next day. Like fish. Stir fries. And noodle soups. Some things are just meant to be eaten fresh off the stove. And pasta is right at the top of that list. There is a very good reason why Italian mamas holler for their family to be seated at the dining table, ready to tuck into pasta the minute it comes off the stove. It’s because after 15 minutes, it just isn’t as good. All the great chefs of the world will tell you that. Lidia Bastianich has been preaching this for decades, and finally the world is listening. 🙂 The reason is simple – pasta continues to absorb liquid after it comes off the stove so it becomes soft and squishy, rather than al dente. And the liquid in the sauce gets sucked into the pasta, leaving a dry coating of what was once a luscious rich sauce on the spaghetti. So what to do with all that leftover pasta? Turn it into these absolutely scrumptious fritters. Look at them! Look at that crunchy brown crust…..oooohhhh…..I just couldn’t stop eating these….I ate way too many of these!

The beauty of these is that you can make them with any type of pasta – bolognaise, alfredo, cabonara, creamy tomato, macaroni, penne/ziti, shells, fettucine. For the photos, I made this using leftover Slow Cooked Shredded Beef Ragu Spaghetti. All the flavour of your delicious pasta is packed into these fritters and ramped up with some cheese (optional) and fried until crisp. The brown crunchy crust is the best!! These also freeze really well. I pop them in the oven to reheat them so I get the crunchy crust again. You can also make giant ones of these, which is what I do if I have a lot of leftover pasta. Fry it up into one big fritter, then cut it up into slices. But I didn’t quite have enough for a giant fritter today so I made little ones. So – have I got you more excited about having leftovers for dinner tonight? 😉 – Nagi

SaveSave

Leftover Pasta Fritters - 66Leftover Pasta Fritters - 33Leftover Pasta Fritters - 42Leftover Pasta Fritters - 60Leftover Pasta Fritters - 1Leftover Pasta Fritters - 57