Chickpea soup with flavour explosion!

I had every intention of making a wholesome, chickpea and vegetable soup. I really, really tried to get excited about it. It is possible to make a great meat-free chickpea soup (I promise I will share mine one day!). But, but, but…. I wanted kapow flavours. Actually, I was really tempted to do the long haul drive for a good laksa fix. I felt like I deserved it. (But then, I always feel I deserve it….) So I compromised. Chickpeas. Veggie loaded – there’s a whole bunch of spinach in this, plus carrots plus onion (yes that counts towards your daily veggie intake, I checked!). Lamb for protein, cooked with my Chicken Shawarma spice mix – wait until you smell this part!!!! It’s SO GOOD!

Shawarma Spice Mix

This is the same shawarma spice mix I use for Chicken Shawarma, a long standing reader favourite. The combination of spices in this is intoxicating!

Oh boy. If you like kapow flavours, or if you are dubious about chickpea soups having been scarred by bland ones in the past, this Lamb Shawarma Chickpea Soup is for you!! It’s really fragrant, the soup itself is quite intense from both the spices and also the lamb. It’s hearty, almost stew-like. Actually, I didn’t know whether to call this a stew or soup.

Because the soup flavouring is from the Shawarma Spice Mix, there’s no need to simmer this for ages. Just long enough for the carrot to become tender. Oh, also, I use canned chickpeas here. Speedy, unplanned meal. 🙂 But if you do have the foresight to plan and want to take it over the top, add a side of homemade flatbreads (simple, no yeast!) or make this mind blowingly easy crusty Artisan bread. Update: I recently created a similar but different variation of this soup in the form of Beef & Lentil Soup. This was has more Moroccan-inspired flavours. Give it a try too! – Nagi x

Watch how to make it

More hearty soups

Taco Soup Corn and Potato Chowder Chicken Noodle Soup from scratch – or a quick version! Chicken and Rice Soup Ham Bone and Bean Soup Spanish Bean Soup (El Bulli recipe) Browse all Soups

Life of Dozer

Spent my afternoon tea break trying to teach him to hold a flower in his mouth, just because I think it would be so cute!  But once he realised it wasn’t edible, he was completely uninterested. I give up.

SaveSave SaveSave SaveSave SaveSave SaveSave SaveSave SaveSave SaveSave

Lamb Shawarma Chickpea Soup - 35Lamb Shawarma Chickpea Soup - 94Lamb Shawarma Chickpea Soup - 71Lamb Shawarma Chickpea Soup - 32Lamb Shawarma Chickpea Soup - 2Lamb Shawarma Chickpea Soup - 43Lamb Shawarma Chickpea Soup - 19Lamb Shawarma Chickpea Soup - 67Lamb Shawarma Chickpea Soup - 59