This is a reader-favourite recipe included by popular demand in my debut cookbook “Dinner”!

Laksa recipe

I am obsessed with Laksa. My Japanese mother will disown me for saying this, but I am pretty sure that Laksa would be my Last Meal. She will also be able to attest to my obsession with Laksa. Because approximately once a month, I trek wide and far as required to get my Laksa fix. I have been known to drive an hour to a place called Temasek in Parramatta which I think has one the best Laksas in Sydney Let me put that another way. I drive a 2 hour round trip for a bowl of Laksa that takes 15 minutes to consume and I’m booted out of my seat the minute I finish slurping the soup. This place is in hot demand!

What is Laksa?

Laksa is a spicy noodle soup from Malaysia, also found in other South East Asian counties including Singapore and Indonesia. Laksa as we know it here in Australia is made with a coconut broth that is spicy and fragrant. However, there are actually quite a few different types of Laksas and those who travel to Malaysia are often surprised to learn that the most popular Laksa has a much stronger curry flavour and is not made with a coconut broth. So the coconut broth Laksa that is so wildly popular here in Australia is actually not widely available in Malaysia. Nevertheless – doesn’t it look ridiculously delicious?? If the jar instructions says to dump paste into coconut milk – ignore it. Follow my recipe! Making a Laksa from scratch requires speciality ingredients such as dried shrimp, dried shrimp paste, candlenuts and galangal. I’ve only made it a handful of times. And it’s always a big occasion when I do – I make a big deal of it. “I made that from scratch”, I’ll say smugly, repeatedly.

How to make Laksa

Today, I’m sharing a Laksa recipe that starts with a store bought Laksa paste. If you’ve ever tried to make laksa at home using a store bought paste and just added that to coconut milk like it says to do on the jar, you’ve probably been sorely disappointed with the outcome. That’s because like all curries (red curry, green curry), Laksa paste benefits greatly from some freshening up. Just a bit of garlic, ginger, lemongrass and chilli sautéed before adding the store bought paste will take this Laksa from meh to mind blowingly delicious! 

Best Laksa paste

The best (Asian stores only) – Por Kwan Laksa Paste (A$2.80). At the time of writing, is still only sold at Asian grocery stores. It has more depth of flavour than other brands, the proper Malaysian “funk” that is so addictive about Laksa.Very good (supermarkets) – Ayam Laksa Paste (Woolworths, Coles 🇦🇺). It’s actually quite good nowadays. I’d happily use it for a Laksa fix if I can’t get to an Asian store.Avoid – Valcom, the other mainstream brand sold in supermarkets. Remains a no-go zone for me (way, WAY too sweet and westernised)

What’s in Laksa?

For me, the crowning glory of Laksa is the spicy coconut broth. I want it on tap. I could happily drink it every day for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Here’s what you need for the Laksa broth. What we’re doing here is making a semi-homemade chicken broth by cooking drumsticks (or other bone in, skin on chicken) in chicken broth/stock to inject extra flavour and richness. Laksa paste – see above for my recommended brands. And here’s what goes ON and IN Laksa. Just a note on a couple of things:

Noodles – The common noodles found in Laksa is vermicelli noodles (thin white noodles). However, “serious” laksa joints serve laksa with both vermicelli and Hokkien Noodles. Hokkien Noodles are optional – I only use it when making laksa for company.Fried Tofu Puffs – these are fried tofu pieces. They’re spongey, don’t taste of much and they look weird, but they’re an essential part of the Laksa eating experience!

It’s not the end of the world if you can’t find them….but you’ll miss that glorious moment when you bite into a tofu puff and the laksa soup squirts into your mouth and her knees go weak at the thought….

Crispy Fried Shallots – crunchy, salty, oily bits of fried shallots, a common garnish in dishes across South East Asia.

Nowadays found in large supermarkets, but cheaper in Asian stores. It makes an appearance regularly around here eg Chinese Chicken Salad, Nasi Goreng, Chinese Ham Bone Rice Soup, Asian Slaw, Amazing Easy Thai Coconut Soup – to name a few! And lastly, but certainly not least is the Chilli Paste that is always served on the side (at good Laksa joints!) so you can add more flavour and heat into your Laksa. The Chilli Paste is made with more than just chilli and I’ve never come across a recipe for it so I made my own up. This stuff is gold, and a little dab of this added into the coconut broth is one of my secrets. 🙂 Phew! Who knew that I would be able to write almost 1,000 words about a humble noodle soup without pausing for a breath?? But honestly, if there is one soup to write an essay about, it’s got to be Laksa. Big punchy flavours. Fragrant, rich and spicy. This soup is me in a bowl. – Nagi x

More Asian Soups You’ll Love!

Ham Bone Congee (Chinese Rice Soup)Wonton SoupChinese Corn SoupChinese Noodle SoupAmazing Easy Thai Coconut SoupSee all Asian Recipes

Watch How To Make It

This recipe features in my debut cookbook Dinner. The book is mostly new recipes, but this is a reader favourite included by popular demand! Originally published September 2016. Updated with new photos, new writing, brand new video. No change to recipe – I wouldn’t dare touch it!

Life of Dozer

I’m sure onlookers were thoroughly unimpressed at the sight of his dusty paws on the park bench that people sit on to watch the sun set over Pittwater…… (I think he jumped up so he could see over the shrubs to watch the pelicans frolicking on the sand flats!)

And from when I first published this Laksa recipe….

Spotted FOOD in the water….(i.e. fish!) SaveSave SaveSave

Laksa Noodle Soup - 54Laksa Noodle Soup - 53Laksa Noodle Soup - 73Laksa Noodle Soup - 30Laksa Noodle Soup - 44Laksa Noodle Soup - 92Laksa Noodle Soup - 39Laksa Noodle Soup - 49Laksa Noodle Soup - 73Laksa Noodle Soup - 21Laksa Noodle Soup - 13Laksa Noodle Soup - 51Laksa Noodle Soup - 67Laksa Noodle Soup - 77