Korean Beef Bulgogi

When I think about food trends in recent years, one of the cuisines that comes to mind straight away is Korean food. Legends like David Chang (of the world renowned Momofuku restaurants) and Roy Choi (LA Korean fusion food truck extraordinaire) have brought Korean food into the limelight. Whereas once you had to hunt to find great Korean restaurants in Sydney, now they are really common in the city and there are growing pockets throughout the suburbs with an increasing number of great Korean restaurants. Korean food is now cool. It’s what sushi was 10 years ago! I have always loved Korean food, from the moment I first tried it. But honestly, it wasn’t until perhaps about 5 years ago that I started making it myself at home. You will laugh when I tell you how I got onto Korean home cooking…. It was because of my Korean hairdresser. Truly! She’s a character. Even though I now live 30km/20 miles from her salon, I still make the trek there every 6 weeks not only because she knows what she’s doing, but also because she dictates recipes to me while she colours and snips away!

One such recipe she dictated to me was Bulgogi, which is otherwise known as Korean BBQ Beef. It is probably one of the more commonly known Korean dishes in Western countries. Marinated beef which is stir fried with onion and carrots. Then served either using lettuce wraps or on rice. The recipe she dictated to me was a loose interpretation, along the lines of “throw in some garlic, grated apple and onion, splash of sesame oil” etc, but I still jotted it down. Then went in hunt of a full recipe to follow! That’s when I first stumbled onto My Korean Kitchen, and food blog run by Sue who is a native Korean now living in Australia. For anyone interested in making real and fusion Korean food at home (note: it’s fusion that stays on the right side of the fusion line!), My Korean Kitchen is a fantastic blog to bookmark. Not only are her recipes delicious, they always work and she goes to great lengths to ensure she explains ingredients that might not be familiar to everyone. So this Korean Beef Bowl (aka Korean BBQ Beef) I’m sharing today is very slightly adapted from her recipe for Bulgogi – Korean BBQ Beef. So you can have absolute confidence that this is the real deal! The use of grated apple and onion in a marinade is quite uniquely Korean. It’s a fabulous way to get a bit of sweet and touch of tang from the apple and flavour from the onion into a Marinade. This exact Marinade is fantastic used with chicken, beef and pork for grilling on the BBQ. In fact, it features frequently at my fusion-Asian BBQ’s I put on! Hope you give this a try! It really is fabulously delish! – Nagi x

More Korean Recipes

Spicy Korean Pork Stir Fry Momofuku Marinated Beef Skirt Steak Ssam

The Spicy Side of Life: Korean recipes

Korean Beef Bulgogi nutrition assuming this serves 3 and is made using Sirloin steak.

Korean Beef Bowl  Bulgogi   Korean BBQ Beef  - 74Korean Beef Bowl  Bulgogi   Korean BBQ Beef  - 67Korean Beef Bowl  Bulgogi   Korean BBQ Beef  - 93Korean Beef Bowl  Bulgogi   Korean BBQ Beef  - 66Korean Beef Bowl  Bulgogi   Korean BBQ Beef  - 18