Served with Caribbean Rice with Peas (actually, it’s beans – but the dish is called “peas”!)

One of the best nights I remember from my holiday to the Bahamas was at a beach bar where we drank cheap beer, danced barefoot on the sand and lined up in long queues for dinner served on paper plates. It was an extensive banquet consisting of peas ‘n rice, corn on the cob, a green salad and jerk chicken….. 🙂 No one was complaining about lack of choice, believe me! That was my first jerk chicken experience and I’ve never looked back. It hits my sweet spot perfectly – big, punchy, spicy flavours. Look at the thick sticky marinade on the chicken!

I’ve tried quite a few jerk chicken recipes, including from celebrity chefs. But this Oven Baked Jerk Chicken recipe by Imma from Immaculate Bites is my favourite. As soon as I saw her recipe, I knew I would try it and I’ve made it twice already. Recipes for jerk chicken, like many signature dishes of cuisines from around the world, vary wildly though they have common ingredients. What I love about Imma’s recipes is that she shares home cook versions of Caribbean recipes. Real ingredients that ordinary people can find and cooking methods for ordinary folks like me. I would love to be able to make real jerk chicken over charcoal with pimento wood. But that just ain’t gonna happen in my backyard! So I’m sticking with Imma’s oven baked version. 🙂 I made these in the photo in the oven, but I’ve provided directions for the grill/BBQ as well. I served the jerk chicken with Imma’s Caribbean Rice with Red Beans. It’s sensational, the kind of rice that is so flavourful you can eat it plain. 🙂 – Nagi x

MORE CHICKEN DRUMSTICK RECIPES

Honey Mustard Drumsticks 5 Ingredient Sticky Stovetop Balsamic Drumsticks Jamaican Jerk Drumsticks Greek Chicken – ideal made with drumsticks instead of thighs Baked Chicken and Rice – make this with drumsticks instead of bone in thighs!

      SaveSave SaveSave

Jamaican Jerk Chicken Drumsticks with Caribbean Rice with Peas  Beans  - 54Jamaican Jerk Chicken Drumsticks with Caribbean Rice with Peas  Beans  - 79Jamaican Jerk Chicken Drumsticks with Caribbean Rice with Peas  Beans  - 64Jamaican Jerk Chicken Drumsticks with Caribbean Rice with Peas  Beans  - 56Jamaican Jerk Chicken Drumsticks with Caribbean Rice with Peas  Beans  - 54