Italian Sausage Quiche

I love to take classic dishes and put my own spin on them. It’s not that I think I can do it better. Anyone who thinks they can improve on a classic Quiche Lorraine is kidding themselves. There’s a reason it has stood the test of time!! I just like to change things up sometimes. This is a typical example – making a quiche but filling it with Italian-esque fillings and flavours. This might not be authentic Italian, but it is damn yummy! The smell when it’s baking is lovely because you can really smell the Italian herbs! This is made with Italian sausages which is the base flavouring for the filling so please don’t try to substitute it with ordinary sausages. It has to be made with proper Italian sausages, the ones where you can see chunks of meat and fat in them (as opposed to the standard ones that are a uniform pink colour as it is pureed with other things to fill them out). I made this with ordinary Italian sausages, but it would be great made with Spicy Italian sausages too.

I’m not great at making anything pastry related. I’m just not coordinated enough. You can see in the photo below that I had to do a dodgy patch up effort because the pastry “flopped” and tore while I was putting it into the flan. So I had to do a bit of bandaid work and as you can see, I did not do a great job of it! I like to call this “rustic”. Not “dodgy”! Jamie Oliver style, eh? This freezes really well. It can also be made ahead and kept in the fridge for up to 2 days. You can microwave it but I encourage you to reheat it in the oven so you get the pastry lovely and crispy again. So, this weekend, why not stay in for brunch? You can stay in your PJ’s and there are bottomless coffee refills…..happy brunching! – Nagi

The Quiche Extended Family

Quiche Lorraine – the French mother, with the buttery flaky crust Hash Brown Crust Quiche Lorraine – the flashy cousin with a hash brown crust CRUSTLESS Quiche – the trendy new girlfriend of the cousin. Custardy, golden and fabulous (plus super speedy & low carb) Salmon Quiche – loaded with smoked salmon Frittata with Bacon – the father, made the traditional way (stove then oven) Baked Vegetable Frittata – the uncle,made the easy way (pour and bake!) Frittata Egg Muffins – the healthy sister Spanish Tortilla (Omelette) – the Spanish potato-loving aunt

  SaveSave SaveSave

Italian Sausage Quiche - 16Italian Sausage Quiche - 18Italian Sausage Quiche - 5Italian Sausage Quiche - 66