Here by popular demand! Because I’ve given this out to so many readers by email, I thought I’d better just share it! My Classic Italian Meatballs are one of the most popular recipes here on RecipeTin Eats. With good reason I think, in my humble opinion.:-) They are softer, juicier and have extra flavour crammed into them thanks to a couple of small but key things I do differently to the usual: I’ll leave it at that because I went into some detail behind my logic in the Classic Italian Meatballs recipe! And here they are….don’t you think they even look soft and juicy?? 🙂

These meatballs are destined to be used in a soup. The extra flavour in the meatballs is key to an extra flavourful soup. Not a drop of flavour is wasted in this recipe! All those gorgeous brown bits in the pot from browning the meatballs are mixed into the soup, and the meatballs are plonked in the soup to finish cooking so all those juices mix in as well.

Oh! Have I mentioned that this is all made in one pot? 🙂 In fact, cooking the spaghetti in the soup thickens it even more thanks to the starch. Ooooh, and I especially love how the spaghetti soaks up all the tomato soup flavour!

I make the meatballs a tiny bit smaller than the recipe for my Classic Italian Meatballs. I just feel that it makes the soup slightly easier to eat. I mean, long strands of spaghetti in a bright red tomato sauce with melted cheese on top is already a challenge to eat as it is without making the meatballs giant size. You know that this is going to be a mess to eat, right? A beautiful, enjoyable mess. Tomato splattered on your face, some might even make it into your hair. I strongly recommend wearing black and if you are feeding kids, consider dinner outdoors? 😉 PS You could be sensible and use macaroni or risoni/orzo, or another type of pasta that is easier to eat. But where’s the fun in that??

I know that half the world is heading into summer, but for us folks in Australia, what seemed like an Endless Summer is officially over as of yesterday when Daylight Saving ended. Autumn is really here. The evenings are cooler, the days are noticeably shorter. In fact, as I hit Publish, it’s pouring with rain outside. And because I’m pouting that every weekend may no longer be spent at the beach, I’m consoling myself at the thought that winter = comfort food. And really, right at this moment, I can’t think of anything more comforting that this Italian Meatball Soup! – Nagi x

Soup Dippers

Quick Cheesy Garlic Bread • Better-Than-Dominos Garlic Bread • Soft No Knead Dinner Rolls • Focaccia

I Get A Round: More Meatball Recipes

Thai Meatballs – Pork meatballs with lemongrass, garlic and a zesty hint of kaffir lime Mexican Meatballs – Beef and pork meatballs supercharged with fiesty Mexican spices Vietnamese Meatballs (Bun Cha!) – Char-grilled pork meatballs with dipping sauce from the streets of Hanoi Italian Meatballs –  An Italian-American classic, these meatballs are pillowy soft Swedish Meatballs – With a savoury and creamy sauce, these are one of the world’s most iconic meatballs! Browse all Meatball recipes

LIFE OF DOZER

PS The moment when I wished I had a little handbag dog instead of an abnormally large golden retriever: when Dozer lifted his head and the meatballs went flying. He inhaled 3 before I got over my shock and busted him!

SaveSave SaveSave

Italian Meatball Soup - 81Italian Meatball Soup - 44Italian Meatball Soup - 50Italian Meatball Soup - 69Italian Meatball Soup - 83Italian Meatball Soup - 97Italian Meatball Soup - 32Italian Meatball Soup - 38Italian Meatball Soup - 64Italian Meatball Soup - 38Italian Meatball Soup - 63