Sometimes I share recipes with very few ingredients, like my 5 ingredient Bacon Wrapped Pork Tenderloin, 5 ingredient Honey Garlic Salmon and 3 ingredient Shortbread Cookies. But I never force or recreate recipes to make them with less ingredients. They are just great as they are. Like my mum’s homemade Teriyaki Sauce Marinade. A real Japanese recipe, it’s only got 3 ingredients (I get water for free!). And that’s the way it is supposed to be made. The key is finding a combination of ingredients that come together to create magic. Amazing food that doesn’t taste flat, or like it is missing “something” when you taste it. For these chicken skewers, it would have been easy to use just soy sauce, garlic and honey, and call this a “3 ingredient recipe”. But honestly? It’s a) too thin to create a good glaze and b) flat tasting. It needs an extra edge either in the marinade or I’d have to make a separate sauce. I chose the easy route – give the marinade more oomph. And I feel there’s a pretty good glaze on these skewers, what do you think? 😉

So to create the extra layer of flavour and achieve that gorgeous glaze you can see in the photos, I added 2 more ingredients: dijon mustard (thickener & extra layers of flavour) and sriracha (for slight tang + mild spice). Which is why I’ve ended up with 5 ingredients in this glaze instead of just 3. 🙂 Totally worth it!! I’ve used sriracha in this recipe but honestly, you can barely taste the spice. I use it for a very mild spiciness but more for the tang. It’s summer here in Sydney and these are PERFECT for a midweek grill out! And it’s really delicious used with beef, pork and fish too! – Nagi x

Chicken on sticks is always a good thing!

Pineapple Coconut Hawaiian Chicken Skewers Thai Chicken Satay with Peanut Sauce Satay Chicken with Peanut Sauce (Indonesian/Bali) Chicken Souvlaki (Greek) Yakitori (Japanese skewers) – on my mother’s Japanese cooking website, RecipeTin Japan!

  SaveSave

Honey Sriracha Chicken Skewers - 33Honey Sriracha Chicken Skewers - 23Honey Sriracha Chicken Skewers - 6Honey Sriracha Chicken Skewers - 66Honey Sriracha Chicken Skewers - 34