Creamy Zucchini Soup

Let’s talk SOUP. Specifically, Creamy Zucchini Soup. A HEALTHY one. I haven’t deliberately made this healthy, this is simply the way I make Cream of Zucchini Soup. And in fact, there’s a good glug of cream stirred into the soup at the end. Which you can afford to do because even with the cream, it’s only got 220 calories per serving – for a big generous bowl. And without the cream, it’s only got 98 calories a serving. Crazy, huh? And you know, yes I’m an advocate for adding a splash of cream into the soup (or butter!), but even without, this is a really ultra tasty soup!

Let’s take a good look at the star of this recipe. Zucchini. LOTS of it. 1 kg / 2 lb to be exact. This is such a great recipe to use up zucchini – it’s pretty much available all year round, and often very good value!

Once cooked until soft, zucchinis whizz up into a silky, smooth, thick soup. No roux, no potato, no cornflour, no thickeners required. The cream stirred in at the end isn’t for thickening, it’s for flavour. See how thick it is?

There I am going on and on about how healthy this soup is, then I show you a photo of me dunking a butter slathered piece of toast into the soup with my little Chipolata-Sausage-like-fingers. (Though speaking of Chipolatas, they would be terrific in the Sausage Pasta I shared on Monday! 😂) Here are some of my favourite Soup Dunkers: This recipe makes a pretty big pot of this soup. In fact, it will serve 5 comfortably, or 4 with big appetites. I always make a gigantic pot because a) it freezes well; and b) this is my “go to” recipe when I load up on bargain zucchinis. I picked up 1 kg / 2 lb for a mere $1.99 from Harris Farms last week and had basic homemade vegetable broth made from offcuts so in all honesty, this entire recipe probably cost me $4 to make. Enjoy! – Nagi x

WATCH HOW TO MAKE IT

Healthy Creamy Zucchini Soup recipe video. Dozer fans – don’t miss his cameo at the end of the video! I gasped out loud with disapproval…..

PS Little tip for a basic “mash up” homemade vegetable broth – I don’t have a composter or chooks (that’s “chickens” in Aussie speak) so what I do is shove all veggie offcuts in large plastic bags and store them in the fridge. For a 4 litre/ 4 quart pot, I put in 6 cups of water then jam pack it (and I mean press it down good) with veggie scraps & sad floppy herbs, a quartered onion, 3 garlic cloves minced, big pinch of pepper and 2 bay leaves. Simmer away for 40 minutes –  1 hour lid off, reducing it right until I have 3 cups of liquid (strained, squeeze out liquid from veggies. Pretty much everything goes into the offcuts bag, even onion skins, dirty potato skin, the dirt coated roots of things, even corn cobs after I cut the corn off. If you have lots of dirt coated things in your stock, just let it settle then pour off the top, avoiding the bits at the bottom.

More zucchini recipes

Crispy Zucchini Fritters Cheesy Zucchini Bread (No Yeast) Greek Zucchini Tots Healthy Cream of Vegetable Soup (Zucchinis are the secret ingredient for ultra low cal creamy white soup!) Chinese Zucchini Pancakes Zucchini Tian (French Rice Bake)

And more creamy soups!

Homemade Cream of Chicken Soup – bid Heinz goodbye! Ham and Corn Chowder with Potato Broccoli Potato Soup and Broccoli Cheese Soup Creamy Carrot Soup Creamy, Dreamy Cauliflower Soup Super Low Cal Creamy Vegetable Soup Creamy Vegetable Soup with Noodles Browse all Soups

LIFE OF DOZER

It’s really hard to concentrate on my computer when that face is shoved in front of me like that. I’m pretty sure it’s not my tea he’s after, it’s the Shortbread. 😉

SaveSave SaveSave SaveSave SaveSave SaveSave SaveSave SaveSave SaveSave

Healthy Creamy Zucchini Soup - 98Healthy Creamy Zucchini Soup - 90Healthy Creamy Zucchini Soup - 57Healthy Creamy Zucchini Soup - 31Healthy Creamy Zucchini Soup - 14Healthy Creamy Zucchini Soup - 34Healthy Creamy Zucchini Soup - 61