Now THIS is what I call a proper salad! Plus it’s transforming leftovers from a recipe I posted a few weeks ago. Thrifty, convenient, healthy, satisfying and super tasty. What more can you ask for in a salad??

A TROPICAL CHICKEN SALAD!!

This recipe is based on this Hawaiian Coconut Pineapple Chicken Skewers and Coconut Lime Cilantro (Coriander) Rice I posted a few weeks ago. It’s a re-purpose of leftovers and I enjoyed the salad so much, I decided to share it here. Truth be told, much of what I share here on RecipeTin Eats is a consequence of a never-ending plan to use up ingredients I have in the fridge or freezer. Between client photography assignments, my monthly feature in Super Food Ideas magazine and the recipes I share here, excess ingredients is a regular “problem” I have. I actually have a whiteboard on my fridge on which I map out ideas all stemming from a list of “MUST USE” items. I hate waste. I was brought up being scolded if I didn’t clear my plate. “A farmer worked hard to grow that rice!”, my mother scold, if I dared to leave a single grain of rice in my bowl. OK, a little off track here. Back to the salad! So it starts with a tasty coconut-pineapple marinated chicken using the same marinade as the Hawaiian Chicken Skewers. There is actually enough marinade in that recipe to sneak in the chicken breast for this recipe. 🙂 Or you could marinate the chicken for the skewers for 24 hours, take it out then marinate the breast for the next 24 hours.

Then add a stack of greens. After all, this is a pretty full loaded salad! I rummaged through my fridge to use what I had on hand, but really, the sky’s the limit. I also used leftover Coconut Cilantro/Coriander Rice which I served as a side for the Hawaiian Chicken Skewers. It’s a perfect match for this salad, and a great way to fill it out! PS This recipe calls for a can of pineapple pieces. So I use the juices for the marinade and sear the pieces to throw into the salad. 🙂

Regular readers know that salad isn’t really my “thing”. I should share more of them. It just takes a lot for me to get excited about a salad. THIS I’m excited about. A salad worth sharing! – Nagi x

MORE CHICKEN SALADS YOU’LL LOVE

Lemon Chicken Salad Chicken Salad with Avocado Dressing Chinese Chicken Salad Thai Chicken Salad Mexican Avocado Chicken Salad More giant Salads for Meals

Life of Dozer – Because he didn’t realise there was chicken in this salad, he was off snoozing in the sun somewhere. Probably on the sun lounge. As he does. He lives a hard, hard life……

PPS Dozer makes regular appearances on Instagram too…..in case FOOD isn’t enough of an incentive for us to be friends on Instagram! 😉

Hawaiian Chicken Salad - 88Hawaiian Chicken Salad - 56Hawaiian Chicken Salad - 40Hawaiian Chicken Salad - 34Hawaiian Chicken Salad - 48