These are like the Greek zucchini version of good ole’ Rissoles, Chicken Patties and Salmon Patties. But so much more exotic sounding by being able to say “these are GREEK!”

Greek Zucchini Tots

These are Courgette Rissoles from Alonnisos in Greece, a recipe I found in a book called  The Food and Cooking of Greece that I stumbled across when I was browsing my local library for cookbooks. Do you do that? Borrow cookbooks from your library? It’s an undiscovered secret. 🙂 You see, an obsession with cookbooks poses two problems – budget and space. Great cookbooks are rather expensive! And how many cookbooks have you indulged in, only to find you only use a few recipes from it?  And as for storage…my cookbooks are everywhere! So when I rediscovered my local library, I was pretty thrilled to find that not only had it been completely renovated since I was last there (hmmm, perhaps 10 years ago, cramming for exams??!), but it has an incredibly extensive cookbook section. Every book I own, have ever wanted to own and so many more!! The first time, I spent 3 hours in the library, browsing all the cookbooks, agonising over which 8 I should borrow. Yes, I borrowed 8! And I was able to keep them for 9 weeks just by renewing them with a click of a button on my iPhone, how cool is that?! So these cute little Greek Zucchini Tots (aka Courgette Fritters / Rissoles – for the Brits reading this!) are from a cookbook I found at the library called The Food and Cooking of Greece. It’s filled with traditional Greek home-cooking recipes and I’ve made quite a few things from it already. I’ll share more – but right now, let’s kick off with these irresistible zucchini bites!

This is a zucchini recipe that transforms zucchini into an addictive dish that charms everyone who tries it!

If anyone can make zucchini sexy, it’s the Greeks. It is just about the blandest tasting vegetable there is. I actually love making salads out of zucchini ribbons, but you can’t taste very much zucchini itself. It’s all the dressing and extra flavours! The traditional recipe is made by shallow frying them. But I found it took ages (because this makes 40 tots!!) so I tried baking them instead. And what do you know, it worked fabulously! A light spray of oil is all that is required to create a golden crunchy crust, and it stays deliciously moist on the inside. 🙂 These make a great party food because they reheat really well! Or you could make them bigger and have them with eggs for breakfast – or dinner! I would happily scoff these down for dinner any day! – Nagi x

More zucchini recipes

Crispy Zucchini Fritters Cheesy Zucchini Bread (No Yeast) Creamy Zucchini Soup Healthy Cream of Vegetable Soup (Zucchinis are the secret ingredient for ultra low cal creamy white soup!) Chinese Zucchini Pancakes Zucchini Tian (French Rice Bake)

More patties and fritters (I love them!)

Cheesy Ground Chicken Patties with Broccoli Broccoli Chicken Fritters – made with chopped chicken Crispy Zucchini Fritters Rissoles!! Broccoli Fritters Bill Granger’s Corn Fritters with Avocado Salsa Salmon Patties and Thai Fish Cakes

 

  SaveSave SaveSave SaveSave

Greek Zucchini Tots  Mini Fritters  - 98Greek Zucchini Tots  Mini Fritters  - 48Greek Zucchini Tots  Mini Fritters  - 61Greek Zucchini Tots  Mini Fritters  - 28Greek Zucchini Tots  Mini Fritters  - 78Greek Zucchini Tots  Mini Fritters  - 6Greek Zucchini Tots  Mini Fritters  - 70