*** This recipe is part of a Christmas Special where I show you how to make 3 mains and 4 side dishes that take 1.5 hrs to prepare and can be largely made ahead. So this Christmas, you can spend less time in the kitchen and more time with your family! 🙂 *** This mightn’t be the sexiest sounding salad around but it sure packs a punch in the flavour department and takes the humble cabbage to a whole new level! I love this because it’s so quick to make and the bright purple cabbage leaves adds a splash of colour to any table. I added a sprinkle of pistachios for some extra crunch but you can use whatever you have on hand. I can’t think of a single nut that won’t suit. So sprinkle away and get creative!

I’ve included this as part of my Christmas Special because I love the colours and I have a theory that herb & garlic butter with anything is a crowd pleaser generally. Plus I think it’s always nice to have one leafy salad as part of any spread. It’s great to make ahead too – just chop up the veggies, mix up the garlic herb butter then keep it in the fridge until you’re ready to cook it. It only takes a few minutes to melt the butter and sauté the cabbage until it starts to wilt. Then toss the spinach in, add a splash of vinegar and sprinkle the nuts. That’s it! I have a theory that garlic butter can transform anything from mediocre to “I want more!!” …. – Nagi  

Garlic Butter Warm Red Cabbage Salad - 87Garlic Butter Warm Red Cabbage Salad - 76Garlic Butter Warm Red Cabbage Salad - 54