These mini pizzas were an invention out of necessity. I had friends with kids around and had planned to make mini pizzas. For the kids, that is. (OK that’s a lie. For us grown ups too). In typical form, I thought I was super duper organised, whirling around the kitchen with the music pumping, preparing the food for lunch. Only to realise at the last minute that I had forgotten to buy frozen pastry for the mini pizzas. I didn’t even have tortillas or any flatbread around to use instead. And I definately didn’t have time to make my own pastry. But I did have BREAD! And that’s how these mini pizzas came to be a regular in my “party food” repertoire. 🙂 See how easy they are to make?

I told you I cut the rounds out weirdly! It’s just the tin from canned tomatoes – a large tin (28oz/800g), not a small one. I’m not one of those ultra-thrifty-repurpose-everything types. I use the tin to cut the rounds because the size is PERFECT to make deep dish pizzas in muffin tins! I don’t even know if you can buy pastry cutters that size. All the round pastry cutters I have are too small to make rounds for muffin tins. The extra little step of brushing the bread with garlic butter is so worth it. It makes the crust beautifully golden and really makes it taste like a cross between garlic bread and pizza. I don’t know about you, but when I order pizza, it goes without saying that garlic bread has to be ordered too. Pizza without garlic bread would be like having sausage rolls without sauce. It’s just not the “done thing”. 😉

These work well for making in advance. Bake them a little less so the cheese isn’t too golden brown, let them cool, then you can reheat them on a baking tray – just 5 minutes in the oven does the trick. Yum! I know this is more of a party food, but I’d happily have these for DINNER too! (Problem is, I’d eat way too many of them…) – Nagi x

Everything Pizza!

Homemade Frozen Pizzas Pull Apart Pizza Bread Hot Mushroom Pepperoni Pizza Dip Mini Pizza Potato Skins

 LIFE OF DOZER

Oh dear, Dozer. You can wait and hope. But they will not fall. 🙁

SaveSave

Garlic Bread Mini Pizzas  Muffin Tin  - 7Garlic Bread Mini Pizzas  Muffin Tin  - 27Garlic Bread Mini Pizzas  Muffin Tin  - 71Garlic Bread Mini Pizzas  Muffin Tin  - 69Garlic Bread Mini Pizzas  Muffin Tin  - 76Garlic Bread Mini Pizzas  Muffin Tin  - 91Garlic Bread Mini Pizzas  Muffin Tin  - 82Garlic Bread Mini Pizzas  Muffin Tin  - 69