With spinach, cherry tomatoes, capsicum / bell peppers and pops of feta, these are great grab ‘ go breakfast muffins that will keep you fuller for longer. Egg muffins will last in the fridge for 4 days, or 3 months in the freezer. Low carb, low fat, high protein, and just 110 calories!

Frittata Egg Muffins

If you want to kick start your mornings with something healthy and yet fabulously tasty (thank you Mr Feta, you are my best friend for adding bling with minimum calories), these healthy Frittata Egg Muffins are a great option. 🙂 They’re essentially frittatas – in muffin form. Which makes them super handy for quick breakfasts. Not because it’s so hard to make the effort to cut a slice of frittata (though surely everyone has morning when even that seems like too much effort, right?😂). It’s more about the shape of these. No man handling a slice of frittata. These Frittata Muffins are perfect hand-food.👌🏻

What do Egg Muffins taste like??

I had some trouble describing the texture of these to some friends. I want to be able to tell you they are soft and custardy inside, like quiche. Dripping with cheese, rich with cream. But… errr, well, that’s not healthy!!! The texture of these Egg Muffins is kind of spongey. A softer texture than Frittata and even Omelettes. I totally realise that describing these as “spongey” really is not an appetising description. But my limited vocab can’t think of another truthful way to describe them. So yes, they have a “spongey” texture, But they are juicy, and they’re tasty, they’re filling and they’re healthy. So let’s get past the “spongey” texture! 😂

Great standby breakfast muffins

Added bonus: Egg Muffins will last in the fridge for 4 days. They also freeze great. The best way to reheat the Egg Muffins is in the microwave – it keeps them moist. So pop them in while you fly around the kitchen filling your thermos with hot coffee before you dash out the door and jump in the car. Then even if you’re stuck in horrendous peak hour traffic, just imagine how smug you will feel – while everyone else is huffing with frustration, you’re sipping hot coffee and nibbling on warm egg muffins. AND your black top will be toast-crumb-free. AND you’re feeling good about yourself knowing that they’re healthy and high in protein, so they’ll keep you fuller for longer than all those days you hoover down a bagel on the run. WIN WIN WIN!!! Nothing glues like eggs. So be sure to use a non stick muffin tin and spray with oil before adding the filling. If it seems stuck straight out of the oven, just leave it for 5 minutes and it should sweat off the muffin tin. Other measures you can take: use cupcake liners for the pan, grease with butter instead of spraying.

I’ve filled these breakfast muffins with a combination of spinach, cherry tomatoes, bell peppers/capsicum and feta. Feel free to substitute with similar vegetables, but I do urge you to stick to the same quantities – too many veggies will weight down the egg and may leech too much water. While it would be lower calories if you skip the feta, it’s my low-cal trick for adding extra tastiness into things that I want to keep healthy. You get great bang for your buck – or should I say deliciousness for calories. So it’s staying in! – Nagi x

More egg recipes for breakfast

A classic Omelette, or this Fluffy Egg White-only Omelette Frittata – the classic done right! Shakshouka – baked eggs made exotic (and trendy) No Washing Up Ham Egg Cheese Pockets No Washing Up Ham Egg Cheese Bowls Bacon and Egg Muffins Copycat MACCERS Sausage and Egg McMuffin

Frittata Egg Muffins Extended Family

Frittata with Bacon – the father, made the traditional way (stove then oven) Quiche Lorraine – the French mother, with the buttery flaky crust Italian Sausage Quiche – the cheeky Italian uncle Hash Brown Crust Quiche Lorraine – the flashy cousin with a hash brown crust Spanish Tortilla (Omelette) – the Spanish potato-loving aunt Baked Vegetable Frittata – the uncle,made the easy way (pour and bake!)

WATCH HOW TO MAKE IT

Sometimes it helps to have a visual, so watch me make these Frittata Muffins!

Originally published February 2018. Updated for housekeeping matters, no change to recipe.

LIFE OF DOZER

Dozer stays with a golden retriever board when I’m away. Whenever I go to pick him up after a trip away, I always have movie-like visions of Dozer bounding towards me and leaping into my arms for a giant hug. The reality is always rather different. Dozer’s joyful bounding towards me sounds more like the thundering hooves of a wild stallion, and instead of leaping gracefully into my arms, he launches himself at me, wild eyed with excitement, upon which I promptly end up on my butt with my legs in the air (reminder: he’s 40kg / 80 lb) with a dirt covered dog wriggling like crazy all over me. Nothing movie-like about it. And every time, someone always says “Bugger! I wish I videoed that!!!” 😂 This is pretty much what I see a split second before my butt lands on the ground. It’s a terrifying / wonderful sight.

Frittata Egg Muffins - 26Frittata Egg Muffins - 70Frittata Egg Muffins - 57Frittata Egg Muffins - 90Frittata Egg Muffins - 81Frittata Egg Muffins - 57Frittata Egg Muffins - 16Frittata Egg Muffins - 36Frittata Egg Muffins - 79