STRAWBERRY BARS

Is it just me who has a serious lack of fresh strawberry recipes in my arsenal? I certainly have plenty of ways to use them fresh on and in desserts. Garnishing stacks of pancakes and french toast dripping with maple syrup. Or stuffed inside. Tried these Strawberry Nutella French Toast roll ups yet?? However, when it comes to using them in cooked form, I have a pretty limited selection. These Fresh Strawberry Bars are one of the few recipes I have.

I think the reason is that you actually need quite a lot of strawberries to get a proper strawberry flavour inside baked goods. So for example, I wouldn’t use strawberries in loaf cakes like my Blueberry Lemon Loaf. Well, I have, and it didn’t work that well. The strawberries go pale and drop water which leaves doughy pockets in the bread. Or you need to cook it down with sugar to intensify the flavour before using it inside something, like mini pies. (Oooh YUM!). This recipe doesn’t require the strawberries to be cooked separately before laying into the bars. All I do is spread a layer of jam over the base (to stop the juices seeping into the base) before topping with strawberries tossed with cornflour which thickens the juices while it’s baking so it comes out almost jammy.

And this is what comes out of the oven. See how the juices have bubbled through the crumbly topping and looks wet? It’s not watery, it’s jammy. And actually, it’s kind of candied on the edges of the bar. <– Quite possibly my favourite bits, except they get stuck in my teeth!

I know quite a few regular readers are big fans of the Easiest Ever Raspberry Jam Bars! This recipe is a variation of that recipe. The same mixture for the base and topping. I’ve just incorporated the fresh strawberries. I’ve also included extra notes in the recipe for how to make this with all sorts of other fruits. You just need to adjust the amount of cornflour depending on the juiciness of the fruit. So for fruit that can be used whole like blueberries and raspberries, I would not use any cornstarch. For juicy fruit that needs to be chopped, like peaches and apricots, just add a bit more. Oooh – and when this is made with apple, it becomes an apple crumble bar! Well, with the addition of some spices too. Wait. I am feeling the urge to share Apple Crumble Bars. I’m saving that one for a separate post! Happy weekend! If you got a (mere) spare 12 minutes, make these Fresh Strawberry Bars! – Nagi xx

More afternoon tea favourites

Cinnamon Swirl Bread – easy, no yeast! Cheese, Herb and Garlic Loaf or Zucchini Cheese Loaf– quick bread, no yeast Apple Muffins or Apple Cake Blueberry Lemon Loaf with Lemon Glaze or Blueberry Lemon Yoghurt Cake Savoury Cheese Muffins or Cornbread Muffins (personal fave😇)

And more irresistible bars and slices

Chocolate Peanut Butter Bars Brownies!! and Salted Caramel Stuffed Brownies – ooh la la!! Caramel Slice (aka Millionaire’s Shortbread!) – the great Aussie favourite! Easiest Ever Raspberries Jam Bars Easy Lemon Bars

WATCH HOW TO MAKE IT

Fresh Strawberry Bars recipe video!

LIFE OF DOZER

Hand on heart, I absolutely swear I do not crimp the hair on his ears. You wouldn’t BELIEVE how many people have asked me!!! #CrazyDogLady PS Wanna know why the fur around his neck is wet? It’s not from the beach. It’s slobber from playing with another dog. 🤮 Bath time for Dozer!

SaveSave SaveSave

Fresh Strawberry Bars - 67Fresh Strawberry Bars - 57Fresh Strawberry Bars - 63Fresh Strawberry Bars - 92Fresh Strawberry Bars - 2Fresh Strawberry Bars - 46Fresh Strawberry Bars - 73Fresh Strawberry Bars - 69