Use a combination of smoked fish and unsmoked fish for optimum flavour and texture, plus it’s more economical. Also see recipe notes for using canned tuna or salmon to make this!

Fish Pie

Let’s talk Fish Pie. Fish Pie for Easter! (Or any other time of the year 🙂 ) This recipe has a few more steps in it than my usual quick ‘n easy dinner recipes. But no more steps than usual pies – Cottage Pie, Beef and Mushroom Pie, Shepherds Pie. A golden crusted, creamy mashed potato topping. A filling loaded with flakes of fish smothered in a beautiful creamy white sauce. The extra pots and pans are totally worth it!

The key element of Fish Pie is the broth used to make the creamy sauce. And the path to a great broth is using the right fish.

Best Fish for Fish Pie

I like to use a combination of both smoked and normal unsmoked fish. The smoked fish (the bright orange one) provides most of the flavour. But I find it a bit overwhelming to use only smoked fish which is why I use both smoked and unsmoked (normal raw) fish. Here in Australia, our range of smoked fish is sadly lacking. The only one sold at my local fish shop and supermarkets (Woolies) is smoked cod. It’s great value – $10/kg ($5/lb), it’s well seasoned infused with good smokey flavour, so it’s fantastic for Fish Pie. And yes, it’s dyed. But I can’t deny that I love the colour it adds to the pie filling!

Poaching the fish with onions studded with cloves is a traditional method that I enjoy using. It adds a subtle hint of flavour into the broth to make this Fish Pie extra special. I think you’ll be amazed at the flavour that’s infused into the milk with just 7 minutes of poaching time. It’s flavour that can’t be bought!!! The flavour infused milk is then used to make the creamy sauce for the Fish Pie. I don’t think it’s strictly traditional to include sautéd carrots and celery in the sauce, but I like adding them because it adds even more flavour and it adds more texture to the filling. This is a point of disagreement between myself and my brother who believes the filling should be just fish, whereas I find the texture too one dimensional for my taste. So I’ve included the carrots and celery as optional in the recipe – otherwise I’ll never hear the end of it! (Much like the fact that I tinkered with his famous Sausage Rolls recipe. He keeps going on and on and on about it 😂).

Key tip for the sauce – make sure it’s pretty thick. Like honey thick – that’s the best way I can describe it. It won’t thicken any more in the oven and also it’s likely that the fish will seep some liquid while baking. So basically, make the sauce as thick as you want it to be when you cut into the pie. I’ve added egg into my Fish Pie, keeping with what I believe to be old school tradition 😇. I have a memory of cutting into a Fish Pie in a pub in London, and was “fishing” around trying to find the egg. I wanted my egg! Give me my egg! But it is optional. 😂

Top with mash, rough it up (more ridges = more crunch!), drizzle with butter, sprinkle with parmesan and bake…..

……and look what comes out. I know I should be focussing on the filling, but let me have a moment. Look at that golden crunchy crust! It’s so good!!!!

OK, now it’s the fillings’ turn. LOOK AT THAT CREAMY FILLING loaded with the tender flakes of fish!!!!

This Fish Pie might be fit for a king, but it’s totally economical to make. If you purchase your fish from the supermarket (Woolworths), it should cost less than $20 and it serves 6 to 8 people. I’m sharing this with Good Friday in mind. Traditionally, meat isn’t consumed on Good Friday and while a side of salmon recipe is usually first to mind, I thought I’d share something a little different for this year! – Nagi x PS Though if salmon is what you’re after, there’s plenty to browse. For gatherings, try this Baked Parmesan Crusted Salmon with Lemon Cream Sauce (firm personal favourite) or Salmon Gravlax. See all my Salmon recipes here!

More cosy pies

Chicken Pot Pie Cottage Pie (beef) Shepherd’s Pie (lamb – because Shepherd’s herd sheep!) Chunky Beef and Mushroom Pie Leftover Turkey Pot Pie with Garlic Bread Topping Browse all cosy Winter Warmers

And more fish recipes:

Crispy Pan Fried Fish Acqua Pazza (Italian-style poached fish in tomato broth) Baked Fish with Lemon Cream Sauce Crispy Skin Salmon Brazilian Fish Stew Honey Garlic Salmon and Lemon Honey Glazed Salmon – super quick! Parmesan Crusted Salmon Homemade Baked Filet-O-Fish Burger See all Fish recipes

WATCH HOW TO MAKE IT

LIFE OF DOZER

When I first got him, he was so shy he used to sleep with his head stuffed between cushions. Soooo cute…..! (Didn’t last long, he was ruling the house in no time).

Fish Pie  for Easter   - 2Fish Pie  for Easter   - 14Fish Pie  for Easter   - 34Fish Pie  for Easter   - 24Fish Pie  for Easter   - 48Fish Pie  for Easter   - 14Fish Pie  for Easter   - 17Fish Pie  for Easter   - 31Fish Pie  for Easter   - 18Fish Pie  for Easter   - 75Fish Pie  for Easter   - 89Fish Pie  for Easter   - 65Fish Pie  for Easter   - 88