I was corresponding with my friend Maureen from the Orgasmic Chef (pop over to follow her search for food that’s better than….well….you know….!). It was on a completely unrelated matter, but I happened to mention a recipe I wanted to make that day. “I was reading your review of Noosa Beach House,” I wrote. “It inspired me to try out a recipe by Peter Kuruvita. I have some short ribs in the freezer, so I’m going to make these Mexican Braised Beef Short Ribs!” “That looks fantastic. But where will you find cumquats and piloncillo?”, she asked. “Oh, I won’t be be using those in this,” I said breezily. “You know me. I’ll make do. Put my own spin on it.” I also didn’t have pinole or ancho chiles. So actually, this is nothing like the recipe I intended to make, but it turned out really delicious.

Being a dish I just made up on the fly, I thought I had better get friends to taste test it the next day. They approved, BUT I actually got constructive feedback!! (Rarely happens, my friends usually just say everything I make is yummy – liars!!). They loved the flavour and texture of the beef but thought it needed more kick. So the next batch I made, I upped the fiery heat in it. Very happy with the outcome. 🙂 The base flavouring in this is Chipotle in Adobo Sauce (dried chilies in a spicy red sauce). It is to Mexican food what oyster sauce is to Asian food – just a dollop of it adds a wack of flavour that has depth (as opposed to, for example, soy sauce which is a fairly flat flavour). I served this with Green Mexican Rice and I’ve provided the recipe for this below as well.  Bright green rice with pops of yellow accompanied with fall apart beef ribs smothered in a thick, crimson sauce. Sights like that make me smile. 🙂 – Nagi

More rib recipes

Oven Baked Barbecue Pork Ribs Oven Baked Pork Ribs with Chipotle BBQ Sauce Sticky Chinese Pork Spare Ribs Braised Beef Short Ribs in Red Wine Sauce

  SaveSave SaveSave

Fiery Fall Apart Mexican Beef Ribs with Green Mexican Rice - 74Fiery Fall Apart Mexican Beef Ribs with Green Mexican Rice - 99Fiery Fall Apart Mexican Beef Ribs with Green Mexican Rice - 85Fiery Fall Apart Mexican Beef Ribs with Green Mexican Rice - 60Fiery Fall Apart Mexican Beef Ribs with Green Mexican Rice - 73