Made with a classic Scottish shortbread base and a fresh lemon curd topping that is a lovely balance of sweet and zing. I think you’ll be surprised how straightforward Lemon Bars are to make!

Lemon Bars

As I started writing this, I remembered that I shared Parmesan Shortbread Biscuits just 2 weeks ago. And that I shared a Honey Lemon Chicken last week. And here I am today sharing these easy Lemon Bars with a shortbread base. Jeez. I score high on variety, don’t I?? 😉 But I couldn’t resist. On Monday I was moaning about how I could feel that winter was just around the corner which is why I indulged in the winter-comfort Italian Meatball Soup, and yet yesterday when I made these, it was like summer was back and these Lemon Bars were fitting! (It’s Friday today and winter is back. Mr Weatherman, make up your mind!!!)

Lemon Bars Biscuit Base

For me, a key element of these Lemon Bars is the shortbread base. I really love using a classic Scottish shortbread recipe. Because the Scots claim shortbread as theirs, and there’s no denying they know a dang good one! In my pre-appliance days (read: when I was a poor uni student), I used to make shortbread using my fingers to rub the butter into the dry ingredients. These days, I’m lazy and use my mini food processor. 4 or 5 quick pulses, and it’s done. How easy is that??

Pour the buttery “sand” into the tin, pat down, bake for 15 minutes. While it’s baking, whisk together the very simple lemon curd (eggs, sugar, lemon and flour), pour it in, bake again. Then cool to let it set. That’s it.

Is shortbread made with rice flour or cornflour?

Oh – I forgot to mention: rice flour vs cornflour/cornstarch. The jury is out out on whether classic Scottish shortbread is made using rice flour or cornflour. Rice flour produces a crisper biscuit (but still soft) that crumbles beautifully as shortbread should. In contrast, shortbread made with cornflour is not as crisp but melts in your mouth more. For this particular recipe, I think that the crisper shortbread is nicer as a contrast to the creamy lemon curd. The magic of baking and how a few simple steps can transform into something so scrumptious always amazes me. In fact, with the shortbread base, these taste just like lemon meringue pies – minus the meringue top. I don’t consider myself an expert baker by any means so when I share desserts, they are always pretty safe. Fuss free, zingy and sweet, but not too sweet, these are the type of sweet treats that will please everyone! – Nagi x

MORE IRRESISTIBLE BARS AND SLICES

Brownies!! AND Salted Caramel Stuffed Brownies – ooh la la!! Caramel Slice (aka Millionaire’s Shortbread!) – the great Aussie favourite! Chocolate Peanut Butter Bars Strawberry Bars – made with tons of fresh strawberries! Easiest Ever Raspberries Jam Bars No Bowl Choc Nut Bars – just layered up right in the pan!

 LIFE OF DOZER

Dozer….in disbelief that none of these Lemon Bars came his way….

SaveSave SaveSave

EASY Lemon Bars - 30EASY Lemon Bars - 16EASY Lemon Bars - 55EASY Lemon Bars - 50EASY Lemon Bars - 73EASY Lemon Bars - 60EASY Lemon Bars - 73EASY Lemon Bars - 11EASY Lemon Bars - 15EASY Lemon Bars - 30